Lentils with Tomatoes Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: Oct. 17, 2007
Yum! I cooked my lentil in chicken boullion. I sauteed onion and crushed garlic, then added a can of diced tomatoes with garlic and a few teaspoons of chopped jalapenos. I added the cooked lentil with a little broth. I also oven roasted a chicken breast (400 for 1 hour covered in foil with cayanne pepper and garlic powder). I added the chicken after I shredded it into big chunks. Simmered everything for about 15 minutes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Chica Chica Chickpea

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Westland, Michigan, USA
Living In: Fort Myers, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 8, 2007
I paired this dish with a mix of wild and arborio rice. I used fresh diced roma tomatoes (unpeeled), which worked well when cooked down thoroughly. Add artichoke hearts (from can or jar) for some great flavor. I also added paprika, cumin, sage, dill, and curry powder, and it turned out really yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 12, 2007
Excellent! I chopped four garlic cloves, half an onion, one red bell pepper and a can of diced, stewed tomatoes (drained) as the base, sauteed those, then added 1.5 cups of lentils, 2 cups of chicken broth, 1 cup of water and simmered for about an hour, and these lentils came out fantastic! I added salt and a dash of cumin after they were cooked, and they made a meal all by themselves. Great recipe...thanks for posting.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
87 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by vanessajbaca

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Albuquerque, New Mexico, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 8, 2007
A little plain on it's own - added some cumin, garlic and coriander chutney to it, that helped it out. It's still missing something but I can't put my finger on it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 22, 2007
With a little tweaking, my family loved this recipe. I followed advice from others and added cumin. I also added some carrots, red peppers and celery. I cooked the lentils with one cup of water and one cup of chicken stock. Will definitely make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 21, 2007
I added chicken bullion when cooking the lentils and I added minced garlic when I added the tomatos. Yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 31, 2007
Great served over couscous with the Moroccan Chicken recipe from South Beach Diet.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 31, 2007
I wanted it to be good but it just wasn't. The bell pepper and tomatoes just made it really twangy like they do in some dishes. It was also just very bland. It may work as a side dish but I wouldn't even serve it that way again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Hobbs, New Mexico, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 26, 2006
She likes it! She likes it! I used bouillon cubes in the water when cooking the lentils and added 2 minced cloves of garlic when sauteing the onion and pepper. I also used 2 cans of tomatos with green chilis (drained) instead of the fresh tomatoes and a healthy dash of cumin when it all was simmering at the end. Tasty, healthy and filling. Thanks for a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by DC Girly Girl

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Baltimore, Maryland, USA
Living In: Columbia, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 25, 2006
Very good. I made it super easy by using canned tomatoes w/garlic & onion and frozen diced multi-colored peppers. Served it with tortilla chips.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 51-60 (of 77) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Crispy Cucumbers and Tomatoes in Dill Dressing

Watch how to make this simple, tasty salad.

How to Make Braised Black Lentils

See how to make black lentils braised in chicken stock.

Bow Ties with Sausage, Tomatoes and Cream

The perfect, satisfying pasta dish for busy weeknights.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States