Lentils with Tomatoes Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Nov. 2, 2009
This was excellent! I did switch up the ingredients a tad by adding a teaspoon of garlic and a can of chickpeas but everything else was just as stated and it was DELICIOUS! I also did mix a little bit of broth with the water to give it just a bit more flavor. Definitely a keeper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Elizabeth

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 6, 2009
I made lentils for the very time with this recipe. Trying to low carb. Took the advice of some other reviers and used chicken broth instead of water. Also added several spices to taste such as cumin, tumeric, coriander, cayenne and celery seed. Also added some fresh silantro. It was really good and I will make it again, next time adding some celery. Thanks for sharing, I would have had no idea what a good base recipe for lentils would have been.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Laura

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Apr. 12, 2009
I made it last night.and it was so tasty.I never know what to do to the lentils before.Thank u for this receipe.I also use some of the advice of the advice and tips of other subscibers.I use chick broth instead of water.Thats why i came so tasty!i will make this one again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by reyz

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 13, 2008
Loved this. Didn't have any bell peppers, but I had some chorizo sausage, which added some great flavour. Also added a dash of soy sauce. I used tinned tomatoes, and served it over brown rice-- delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 20, 2008
I used some suggestions and added 1TBSP minced garlic to the saute. Then at the end of cooking added 1/2 tsp ground cumin! Even my kids loved it! Thanks
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 9, 2008
This is a very simple and delectable dish - perfect for a light but filling meal. I've made it several times and it is always a bit hit on my household.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Paris, Île-De-France, France

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 24, 2008
I thought this dish was quite tasty! I used veggie boullion cubes to boil the lentils and I didn't boil them long because I didn't want them to be mushy. I sauted onions with garlic and carrots and added fresh tomatoes. I didn't have green peppers and didn't miss them. I added pepper no salt as the boullion cubes are salty enough. I then put them all together and cooked for about 10 minutes. The flavor is great! Now the test is if hubby and children like it!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Thiswifebakes
Reviewed: Feb. 8, 2008
It was okay, but nothing fabulous. I did add garlic, carrots and cumin for more flavor and that probably helped. I'll probably make it again since I want to start eating more lentils.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by PALLOTTA

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Denver, Colorado, USA
Living In: Arvada, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 1, 2008
It was fine but not amazing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 30, 2008
It's 10 degrees today and this recipe hits the spot! I did add garlic and chili powder, but otherwise followed the directions to the letter. Thanks for the great dish!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Dayton, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 80) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Muffins Are Perfect Anytime
Muffins Are Perfect Anytime

Muffins are great for breakfast, with coffee, or just as a snack on the go.

Soup For What Ails You
Soup For What Ails You

Soup is what the doctor ordered to cure those winter blahs.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Crispy Cucumbers and Tomatoes in Dill Dressing

Watch how to make this simple, tasty salad.

How to Make Braised Black Lentils

See how to make black lentils braised in chicken stock.

Bow Ties with Sausage, Tomatoes and Cream

The perfect, satisfying pasta dish for busy weeknights.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States