Lentils with Tomatoes Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Oct. 19, 2010
Excellent recipe and very easy to make. I followed some of the suggestions the others made and added some of my own. I substituted a green bell peeper with a red one, I used Italian canned diced tomatoes, added a tablespoon of cumin, and some shredded carrots. It came out great and with rice included the whole meal cost me under ten bucks! I will definately make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MissNicki

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Nashville, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 15, 2010
So oh so yummy!!! Of course I added garlic and used a can of diced tomatoes like others suggested. Well for sure make again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Green Eyed Texan

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Amarillo, Texas, USA
Living In: Houston, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 5, 2010
This is a good base recipe for lentils. It's easy to make and pretty tasty. I usually add more veggies when I make, celery and carrots work pretty well (mushrooms not so much). Also it helps if you chop them up really finely--it makes the dish more flavorful. Also, I use lots more spices, usually garlic and cayenne peppers, sometimes some indian spices too. I also use canned tomatoes, I've found that one can of dice tomatoes is the perfect size. I usually serve it with a little bit of rice, just the lentils alone is a little heavy. All in all, this is a really simple, good recipe, and I use it all the time!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by fireflyrebel
Reviewed: Mar. 11, 2010
Great hearty meal. I added mushrooms and only used one cup of tomatoes so I found that the lentils were not in enough liquid to simmer for the 30 minutes. I added 1 cup chicken broth, cumin, and a little cayenne pepper and chili powder for a kick and continued the simmer process. The cumin really made the dish for me and accented all of the flavors well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by fireflyrebel

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: San Diego, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 11, 2010
This was fantastic!!! I took others advice and added minced garlic to the peppers and onions and used 1 can of diced tomatoes. I had never tried lentils before and this recipe was a great surprise, even my 3yr, who does not eat anything, loved it (and that is saying a lot). I will be making this again soon.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 25, 2009
Wonderful dish! To take it up to 5 stars, I add red and/or yellow bell pepper, carrots, and celery. Also season with cayenne, basil, and whatever else I'm in the mood for.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 2, 2009
This was excellent! I did switch up the ingredients a tad by adding a teaspoon of garlic and a can of chickpeas but everything else was just as stated and it was DELICIOUS! I also did mix a little bit of broth with the water to give it just a bit more flavor. Definitely a keeper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Elizabeth

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 6, 2009
I made lentils for the very time with this recipe. Trying to low carb. Took the advice of some other reviers and used chicken broth instead of water. Also added several spices to taste such as cumin, tumeric, coriander, cayenne and celery seed. Also added some fresh silantro. It was really good and I will make it again, next time adding some celery. Thanks for sharing, I would have had no idea what a good base recipe for lentils would have been.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Laura

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Apr. 12, 2009
I made it last night.and it was so tasty.I never know what to do to the lentils before.Thank u for this receipe.I also use some of the advice of the advice and tips of other subscibers.I use chick broth instead of water.Thats why i came so tasty!i will make this one again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by reyz

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 13, 2008
Loved this. Didn't have any bell peppers, but I had some chorizo sausage, which added some great flavour. Also added a dash of soy sauce. I used tinned tomatoes, and served it over brown rice-- delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 76) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Crispy Cucumbers and Tomatoes in Dill Dressing

Watch how to make this simple, tasty salad.

How to Make Braised Black Lentils

See how to make black lentils braised in chicken stock.

Bow Ties with Sausage, Tomatoes and Cream

The perfect, satisfying pasta dish for busy weeknights.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States