Lentils with Tomatoes Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jul. 11, 2014
This recipe was kid-approved, and totally delicious! I didn't have green-peppers, so I omitted them, but added minced garlic into the oil before sauteing the onions. I also doubled the recipe and used fresh tomatoes from my garden (generic tomatoes like for slicing and several Black Prince Grape tomatoes that were super sweet) that I didn't bother to seed or peel. The result was absolutely the best easy dish I've ever cooked with lentils! Top it off with a bit of Sriracha for a nice savory, spicy dish! And, since I served it over brown rice, the cook-times lined up perfectly. One word of advice: be sparing with the salt if you don't like salty foods. I find that lentils can easily get way too salty for my personal taste, if you're not careful.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 25, 2014
I added a bit for more flavor;a dash of allspice and curry powder with some chopped kale.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Vanessa76

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Florissant, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by AuntE
Reviewed: Feb. 26, 2014
Very easy to make. I used fresh frozen tomatoes from last years garden and I added spinach instead of peppers as they repeat on me later. Full of protein and fiber and tasted great hot and cold.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by AuntE

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: East Lyme, Connecticut, USA
Living In: Lebanon, Connecticut, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 5, 2013
I substituted rice wine vinegar for the lemon juice and added a chopped tomato I had on hand. Otherwise, I followed the recipe as written. I served it at room temperature. I really liked it, and I'll make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 16, 2013
Much enjoyed, this recipe will certainly be used again and again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by FeyWind

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 29, 2013
This was WAY yummier than I expected it to be!! I was seriously shocked. The entire family ate it and loved it. My "salt & pepper to taste" ended up as 1 teaspoon of salt & a half teaspoon of pepper. I also added a half teaspoon of garlic powder. Mine also didn't take nearly as long to cook as the recipe stated. I started my lentils boiling and then immediately started chopping my onions, etc . . . By the time the onion/tomato mix was ready, the lentils were too. In all, it probably took 45 min.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Pacific, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 12, 2013
This was a nice, filling meal and very easy to prepare. Instead of the fresh tomatoes, I used two cans of diced tomatoes with the liquid. I also added two stalks of chopped celery, about 1/2 tsp of cumin and a little red cayenne pepper. We had this over brown rice and topped it off with some Cholula sauce.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 18, 2012
I used stewed canned tomatoes as that is what i had and also a red pepper. I thought this was good, but lacking a bit in flavor. I had it with chicken tandoori so it went well with something spicy (mixed with tandoori sauce), but I don't see this as a stand alone dish for me.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 10, 2012
I followed the recipe but also tips from other reviews and added garlic, cumin and paprika. I also cooked the lentils in a mixture of water and chicken broth. I like vegetables so added half a red onion, one chopped kale leaf, a carrot, one bell pepper and some frozen spinach with a can of stewed tomatoes. My lentils looked mushy but nevertheless the dish was very tasty, delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Chicago, Illinois, USA
Living In: Oak Lawn, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 17, 2012
These lentils were banging!! I added red pepper to give a tiny kick but I add that to everything. Loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 76) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Crispy Cucumbers and Tomatoes in Dill Dressing

Watch how to make this simple, tasty salad.

How to Make Braised Black Lentils

See how to make black lentils braised in chicken stock.

Bow Ties with Sausage, Tomatoes and Cream

The perfect, satisfying pasta dish for busy weeknights.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States