Lentils with Tomatoes Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Mar. 13, 2004
This dish was very yummy! I added one zuccini, half a cup of chopped cilantro and red hot pepper chopped really fine. I also substituted the green bell pepper for yellow. I' too lazy to bother peeling or taking out seeds from the tomatoes...really it will be ok to skip that step. Instead of salt I used garlic salt. This was really good! Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 11, 2005
Great choice for a quick lunch. Its great on its own with a side salad.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 28, 2005
Fantastic. Easy..usually have the ingredients on hand. I used 2 14 oz cans of diced tomatoes, a box of thawed chopped spinach, and cumin. Everyone loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Ithaca, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 4, 2005
Yummy! Thanks for this great and easy recipe. I never knew what to do with lentils until I came across your recipe. Thanks! Will definitely make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Düsseldorf, Nordrhein-Westfalen, Germany
Living In: Cambridge, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 27, 2004
Excellent! Easy to prepare, I use any fresh vegetables I have on hand.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 25, 2004
This was soooooooooo good. I used 2 cans of diced tomatoes and I added probably about 1 cup or so of cooked rice and I added garlic powder. I served it with grated romano cheese. The added rice made this more of a main meal and it is delicous!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 1, 2005
Very easy and tasty. I sauted one clove of minced garlic with the peppers & onions, cooked til tender.I added a can of diced tomatoes (with the juice) and one chopped carrot, and about a tsp of herbs de provence and simmered the vegetables for 20 minutes or so. I cooked the lentils in a combo of chx broth and water (don't know if that made a difference or not)for about 30 minutes. Then,drained and added to the vegetables and simmered the whole thing for another 10 minutes or so. My husband doesn't eat lentils, so I had the whole batch for myself. I froze some and am anxious to see how it tastes after having been frozen (I didn't know if you can freeze cooked lentils or not -- we'll see!) Thank you for this delicious and easy recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
24 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Cape Elizabeth, Maine, USA
Living In: Farmingdale, Maine, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 5, 2004
I absolutely loved this recipe. Will try again using canned tomatoes. It is a little time consuming using fresh tomatoes since you have to boil then ice then peel them. But very tasty none the less.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 8, 2005
good side dish or main vegetarian
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Burley, Idaho, USA
Living In: Spokane, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 4, 2005
Excellent way to use lentils as the taste is wonderful and such a healthy dish!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by TEETIMEVAL

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 76) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Crispy Cucumbers and Tomatoes in Dill Dressing

Watch how to make this simple, tasty salad.

How to Make Braised Black Lentils

See how to make black lentils braised in chicken stock.

Bow Ties with Sausage, Tomatoes and Cream

The perfect, satisfying pasta dish for busy weeknights.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States