Lentils with Tomatoes Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Sep. 12, 2007
Excellent! I chopped four garlic cloves, half an onion, one red bell pepper and a can of diced, stewed tomatoes (drained) as the base, sauteed those, then added 1.5 cups of lentils, 2 cups of chicken broth, 1 cup of water and simmered for about an hour, and these lentils came out fantastic! I added salt and a dash of cumin after they were cooked, and they made a meal all by themselves. Great recipe...thanks for posting.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
87 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by vanessajbaca

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Albuquerque, New Mexico, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 23, 2005
Very tasty! I amended the recipe per some suggestions, and added some things of my own: I added fresh garlic in with the onions and green pepper, along with a little bit of ground cumin, used one 28 oz. can of diced tomatoes (w/garlic) instead of fresh, added some frozen spinach, and about 1/3 cup fresh chopped cilantro. Served over rice, a nicely flavored, hearty meal.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
38 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: New York, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 1, 2005
Very easy and tasty. I sauted one clove of minced garlic with the peppers & onions, cooked til tender.I added a can of diced tomatoes (with the juice) and one chopped carrot, and about a tsp of herbs de provence and simmered the vegetables for 20 minutes or so. I cooked the lentils in a combo of chx broth and water (don't know if that made a difference or not)for about 30 minutes. Then,drained and added to the vegetables and simmered the whole thing for another 10 minutes or so. My husband doesn't eat lentils, so I had the whole batch for myself. I froze some and am anxious to see how it tastes after having been frozen (I didn't know if you can freeze cooked lentils or not -- we'll see!) Thank you for this delicious and easy recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
24 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Cape Elizabeth, Maine, USA
Living In: Farmingdale, Maine, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 26, 2006
She likes it! She likes it! I used bouillon cubes in the water when cooking the lentils and added 2 minced cloves of garlic when sauteing the onion and pepper. I also used 2 cans of tomatos with green chilis (drained) instead of the fresh tomatoes and a healthy dash of cumin when it all was simmering at the end. Tasty, healthy and filling. Thanks for a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by DC Girly Girl

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Baltimore, Maryland, USA
Living In: Columbia, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 28, 2005
Fantastic. Easy..usually have the ingredients on hand. I used 2 14 oz cans of diced tomatoes, a box of thawed chopped spinach, and cumin. Everyone loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Ithaca, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 13, 2011
I was searching for something healthy to make on one of those "ran out of groceries" days, and this was great! I had to make a couple of small changes to suit what was in the pantry-I used a large can of italian seasoned diced tomatoes, and I added a couple of cloves of garlic and a sprinkle of basil to enhance the flavor of the tomatoes. I also cooked the lentils in a vegetable broth instead of plain water. I served this with brown rice, and even my carnivorous husband said it was good! I think next time I'll add a little extra tomato, but that's just because I love me some 'maters!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lisa

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Mount Vernon, Indiana, USA
Living In: Louisville, Kentucky, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 13, 2004
This dish was very yummy! I added one zuccini, half a cup of chopped cilantro and red hot pepper chopped really fine. I also substituted the green bell pepper for yellow. I' too lazy to bother peeling or taking out seeds from the tomatoes...really it will be ok to skip that step. Instead of salt I used garlic salt. This was really good! Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 16, 2005
Delicious. I did not have time to peel and seed the tomatoes, so I cooked them a little longer to make them nice and soft. I used a yellow pepper instead of a green one as well as some garlic. A delicious way to use lentils.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 4, 2005
Yummy! Thanks for this great and easy recipe. I never knew what to do with lentils until I came across your recipe. Thanks! Will definitely make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Düsseldorf, Nordrhein-Westfalen, Germany
Living In: Cambridge, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 31, 2007
I wanted it to be good but it just wasn't. The bell pepper and tomatoes just made it really twangy like they do in some dishes. It was also just very bland. It may work as a side dish but I wouldn't even serve it that way again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Hobbs, New Mexico, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 78) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Best Thanksgiving Recipes
Best Thanksgiving Recipes

From the bird to the sides to the cranberry sauce and the pie, it's all here for you.

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Crispy Cucumbers and Tomatoes in Dill Dressing

Watch how to make this simple, tasty salad.

How to Make Braised Black Lentils

See how to make black lentils braised in chicken stock.

Bow Ties with Sausage, Tomatoes and Cream

The perfect, satisfying pasta dish for busy weeknights.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States