Lentils with Tomatoes Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Mar. 13, 2004
This dish was very yummy! I added one zuccini, half a cup of chopped cilantro and red hot pepper chopped really fine. I also substituted the green bell pepper for yellow. I' too lazy to bother peeling or taking out seeds from the tomatoes...really it will be ok to skip that step. Instead of salt I used garlic salt. This was really good! Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 5, 2004
I absolutely loved this recipe. Will try again using canned tomatoes. It is a little time consuming using fresh tomatoes since you have to boil then ice then peel them. But very tasty none the less.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 27, 2004
Excellent! Easy to prepare, I use any fresh vegetables I have on hand.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 25, 2004
This was soooooooooo good. I used 2 cans of diced tomatoes and I added probably about 1 cup or so of cooked rice and I added garlic powder. I served it with grated romano cheese. The added rice made this more of a main meal and it is delicous!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 13, 2004
very good easy hot meal
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 18, 2005
I'm trying to add more vegetarian dishes to our rotation, so I served this over jasmine rice for dinner the other night. I used 2 cans of diced tomatoes and added roasted garlic. To his surprise, my husband loved it. I liked it as well (and I don't even like bell peppers), but I thought it could use another spice for flavor. I can't put my finger on which one, though.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 23, 2005
Very tasty! I amended the recipe per some suggestions, and added some things of my own: I added fresh garlic in with the onions and green pepper, along with a little bit of ground cumin, used one 28 oz. can of diced tomatoes (w/garlic) instead of fresh, added some frozen spinach, and about 1/3 cup fresh chopped cilantro. Served over rice, a nicely flavored, hearty meal.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
39 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: New York, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 28, 2005
Fantastic. Easy..usually have the ingredients on hand. I used 2 14 oz cans of diced tomatoes, a box of thawed chopped spinach, and cumin. Everyone loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Ithaca, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 1, 2005
Very easy and tasty. I sauted one clove of minced garlic with the peppers & onions, cooked til tender.I added a can of diced tomatoes (with the juice) and one chopped carrot, and about a tsp of herbs de provence and simmered the vegetables for 20 minutes or so. I cooked the lentils in a combo of chx broth and water (don't know if that made a difference or not)for about 30 minutes. Then,drained and added to the vegetables and simmered the whole thing for another 10 minutes or so. My husband doesn't eat lentils, so I had the whole batch for myself. I froze some and am anxious to see how it tastes after having been frozen (I didn't know if you can freeze cooked lentils or not -- we'll see!) Thank you for this delicious and easy recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
24 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Cape Elizabeth, Maine, USA
Living In: Farmingdale, Maine, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 10, 2005
This was my first time making lentils, and I was skeptical at first. It turned out very nicely, though. I had to use dried onions instead of fresh since I didn't have any on hand, and I also threw in some fresh garlic. The only thing I wish I had done was add more spices. Cumin, perhaps, or just more salt. Overall, very good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: London, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Saint Clair, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 81) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Gourmet Chicken
Gourmet Chicken

We have over 150 different ways to take chicken from everyday to gourmet.

Springtime Salads
Springtime Salads

All the tenderest leaves, baby vegetables, and early fruits are ready for the picking.

Spring Sale! Only $5.99
Spring Sale! Only $5.99

Great recipes and cooking tips! For a limited time, get a year of Allrecipes Magazine for $5.99.

Related Videos

Crispy Cucumbers and Tomatoes in Dill Dressing

Watch how to make this simple, tasty salad.

How to Make Braised Black Lentils

See how to make black lentils braised in chicken stock.

Bow Ties with Sausage, Tomatoes and Cream

The perfect, satisfying pasta dish for busy weeknights.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States