Lentils with Tomatoes Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: Feb. 1, 2008
It was fine but not amazing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 30, 2008
It's 10 degrees today and this recipe hits the spot! I did add garlic and chili powder, but otherwise followed the directions to the letter. Thanks for the great dish!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Dayton, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 6, 2008
Delicious! We doubled it and ate it all in two days!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 3, 2007
okay, i dont think i know how to make lentils, bc this is the second time ive tried to do something with them, and its come out miserably wrong lol poor boy i had over for a date at it and said nothing was wrong w it, but to me, oh no no no it was slop .. i also added fresh spinach to it and extra garlic maybe i should give up on the lentils idea lol
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ur2good2btru

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Edmonton, Alberta, Canada
Living In: Regina, Saskatchewan, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 30, 2007
Very good! We used two cans of diced tomatoes, including the juice, and added about a 1/2 tsp. of cumin for spice. One of the cans had green chilis in it, and I wouldn't do that again, even though it was still a great dish. Next time I'll be sure not to overcook the lentils (I boiled them over med heat and they were a bit mushy), and I'll also add carrots. Thanks for a great, healthy recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 17, 2007
Yum! I cooked my lentil in chicken boullion. I sauteed onion and crushed garlic, then added a can of diced tomatoes with garlic and a few teaspoons of chopped jalapenos. I added the cooked lentil with a little broth. I also oven roasted a chicken breast (400 for 1 hour covered in foil with cayanne pepper and garlic powder). I added the chicken after I shredded it into big chunks. Simmered everything for about 15 minutes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Chica Chica Chickpea

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Westland, Michigan, USA
Living In: Fort Myers, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 8, 2007
I paired this dish with a mix of wild and arborio rice. I used fresh diced roma tomatoes (unpeeled), which worked well when cooked down thoroughly. Add artichoke hearts (from can or jar) for some great flavor. I also added paprika, cumin, sage, dill, and curry powder, and it turned out really yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 12, 2007
Excellent! I chopped four garlic cloves, half an onion, one red bell pepper and a can of diced, stewed tomatoes (drained) as the base, sauteed those, then added 1.5 cups of lentils, 2 cups of chicken broth, 1 cup of water and simmered for about an hour, and these lentils came out fantastic! I added salt and a dash of cumin after they were cooked, and they made a meal all by themselves. Great recipe...thanks for posting.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
91 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by vanessajbaca

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Albuquerque, New Mexico, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 8, 2007
A little plain on it's own - added some cumin, garlic and coriander chutney to it, that helped it out. It's still missing something but I can't put my finger on it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 22, 2007
With a little tweaking, my family loved this recipe. I followed advice from others and added cumin. I also added some carrots, red peppers and celery. I cooked the lentils with one cup of water and one cup of chicken stock. Will definitely make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 51-60 (of 82) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Grilled Burgers For the 4th
Grilled Burgers For the 4th

Check out our collection of almost 200 grilled burger recipes.

Potato Salad On the Side
Potato Salad On the Side

A cookout isn't complete without a big bowl of potato salad. We have hundreds for you.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Crispy Cucumbers and Tomatoes in Dill Dressing

Watch how to make this simple, tasty salad.

How to Make Braised Black Lentils

See how to make black lentils braised in chicken stock.

Bow Ties with Sausage, Tomatoes and Cream

The perfect, satisfying pasta dish for busy weeknights.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States