Lentils with Tomatoes Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Aug. 20, 2008
I used some suggestions and added 1TBSP minced garlic to the saute. Then at the end of cooking added 1/2 tsp ground cumin! Even my kids loved it! Thanks
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 9, 2008
This is a very simple and delectable dish - perfect for a light but filling meal. I've made it several times and it is always a bit hit on my household.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Paris, Île-De-France, France

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 24, 2008
I thought this dish was quite tasty! I used veggie boullion cubes to boil the lentils and I didn't boil them long because I didn't want them to be mushy. I sauted onions with garlic and carrots and added fresh tomatoes. I didn't have green peppers and didn't miss them. I added pepper no salt as the boullion cubes are salty enough. I then put them all together and cooked for about 10 minutes. The flavor is great! Now the test is if hubby and children like it!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Thiswifebakes
Reviewed: Feb. 8, 2008
It was okay, but nothing fabulous. I did add garlic, carrots and cumin for more flavor and that probably helped. I'll probably make it again since I want to start eating more lentils.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by PALLOTTA

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Denver, Colorado, USA
Living In: Arvada, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 1, 2008
It was fine but not amazing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 30, 2008
It's 10 degrees today and this recipe hits the spot! I did add garlic and chili powder, but otherwise followed the directions to the letter. Thanks for the great dish!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Dayton, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 6, 2008
Delicious! We doubled it and ate it all in two days!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 3, 2007
okay, i dont think i know how to make lentils, bc this is the second time ive tried to do something with them, and its come out miserably wrong lol poor boy i had over for a date at it and said nothing was wrong w it, but to me, oh no no no it was slop .. i also added fresh spinach to it and extra garlic maybe i should give up on the lentils idea lol
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ur2good2btru

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Edmonton, Alberta, Canada
Living In: Regina, Saskatchewan, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 30, 2007
Very good! We used two cans of diced tomatoes, including the juice, and added about a 1/2 tsp. of cumin for spice. One of the cans had green chilis in it, and I wouldn't do that again, even though it was still a great dish. Next time I'll be sure not to overcook the lentils (I boiled them over med heat and they were a bit mushy), and I'll also add carrots. Thanks for a great, healthy recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 17, 2007
Yum! I cooked my lentil in chicken boullion. I sauteed onion and crushed garlic, then added a can of diced tomatoes with garlic and a few teaspoons of chopped jalapenos. I added the cooked lentil with a little broth. I also oven roasted a chicken breast (400 for 1 hour covered in foil with cayanne pepper and garlic powder). I added the chicken after I shredded it into big chunks. Simmered everything for about 15 minutes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Chica Chica Chickpea

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Westland, Michigan, USA
Living In: Fort Myers, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 76) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Crispy Cucumbers and Tomatoes in Dill Dressing

Watch how to make this simple, tasty salad.

How to Make Braised Black Lentils

See how to make black lentils braised in chicken stock.

Bow Ties with Sausage, Tomatoes and Cream

The perfect, satisfying pasta dish for busy weeknights.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States