Lentils with Tomatoes Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Apr. 14, 2011
I loved this! I cut the olive oil down to 1 tablespoon and it was plenty. I added a tablespoon of cumin (maybe more) as well. Served over whole wheat couscous. Will definitely make again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 13, 2011
This was AMAZING! I added garlic + spinach and seasoned with cumin, nutmeg, cinnamon, and curry powder. Served over basmati rice and even my picky little brother loved it. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 13, 2011
I was searching for something healthy to make on one of those "ran out of groceries" days, and this was great! I had to make a couple of small changes to suit what was in the pantry-I used a large can of italian seasoned diced tomatoes, and I added a couple of cloves of garlic and a sprinkle of basil to enhance the flavor of the tomatoes. I also cooked the lentils in a vegetable broth instead of plain water. I served this with brown rice, and even my carnivorous husband said it was good! I think next time I'll add a little extra tomato, but that's just because I love me some 'maters!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lisa

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Mount Vernon, Indiana, USA
Living In: Louisville, Kentucky, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 21, 2011
I can hardly believe that just these few simple ingredients could yield such a tasty dish! I did change a few things: I used TWO cups of lentils and more water than indicated, to which I added chicken soup powder for more taste; I used two large onions (I love onions!), 3 cups of fresh tomatoes with the pulp and seeds, a large yellow pepper, and added minced garlic and cumin, to taste, along with the salt and pepper. Mmmmm!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Montreal, Quebec, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 16, 2010
This came out pretty bland for my taste... smothering it in soy sauce helped a little.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by bethany26

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 26, 2010
I'll make this with whatever I have around. I love it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Garden Grove, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 19, 2010
Excellent recipe and very easy to make. I followed some of the suggestions the others made and added some of my own. I substituted a green bell peeper with a red one, I used Italian canned diced tomatoes, added a tablespoon of cumin, and some shredded carrots. It came out great and with rice included the whole meal cost me under ten bucks! I will definately make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MissNicki

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Nashville, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 15, 2010
So oh so yummy!!! Of course I added garlic and used a can of diced tomatoes like others suggested. Well for sure make again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Green Eyed Texan

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Amarillo, Texas, USA
Living In: Houston, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 5, 2010
This is a good base recipe for lentils. It's easy to make and pretty tasty. I usually add more veggies when I make, celery and carrots work pretty well (mushrooms not so much). Also it helps if you chop them up really finely--it makes the dish more flavorful. Also, I use lots more spices, usually garlic and cayenne peppers, sometimes some indian spices too. I also use canned tomatoes, I've found that one can of dice tomatoes is the perfect size. I usually serve it with a little bit of rice, just the lentils alone is a little heavy. All in all, this is a really simple, good recipe, and I use it all the time!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by fireflyrebel
Reviewed: Mar. 11, 2010
Great hearty meal. I added mushrooms and only used one cup of tomatoes so I found that the lentils were not in enough liquid to simmer for the 30 minutes. I added 1 cup chicken broth, cumin, and a little cayenne pepper and chili powder for a kick and continued the simmer process. The cumin really made the dish for me and accented all of the flavors well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by fireflyrebel

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: San Diego, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 82) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Sweet Summer Desserts
Sweet Summer Desserts

Summertime is all the sweeter with light desserts that satisfy without weighing you down.

Let's Make Zucchini Bread
Let's Make Zucchini Bread

Buried in zucchini? It's time to make zucchini bread! Choose from over 100 recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Crispy Cucumbers and Tomatoes in Dill Dressing

Watch how to make this simple, tasty salad.

How to Make Braised Black Lentils

See how to make black lentils braised in chicken stock.

Bow Ties with Sausage, Tomatoes and Cream

The perfect, satisfying pasta dish for busy weeknights.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States