Lentils with Chorizo Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: May 23, 2015
Excellent recipe, thanks! I made a couple of very minor changes. Cooked the lentils in homemade chicken broth, and added some carrots and mushrooms to the veggie mixture. We used this to make burritos and tacos.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by aimeelynn

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Santa Cruz, California, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 3, 2015
This is a great gluten-free, fiber-filled dish, as long as you don't use the chicken boullion! I also didn't use the bacon (forgot to thaw it) so I did need to add a bit of salt. Also threw in a jalapeño because I had it, and used queso fresco with crema supremo on top. Delish!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 1, 2014
No, really it is that amazing!!!!! Simple with bold flavor and stinkin' delish! Thanks 'SB' as this is a new staple dish at our place.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by PHILLYJH

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Red Oak, Iowa, USA
Living In: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 14, 2014
My family loved this recipe! I didn't used to be a lentil fan, but really enjoyed this. The only changes I made was to use low sodium chicken broth instead of bullion and water. I also increased the cumin to half a teaspoon and added 1/4 teaspoon coriander.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Thornton, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 10, 2014
I made a vegetarian version of this recipe and it turned out to be delicious! I used veggie bullion instead of chicken, veggie chorizo, left out the bacon completely (with a little extra olive oil to add some fat), and wasn't able to find a tomatillo, so I had to make due with fresh tomatillo salsa. Nevertheless, even my carnivorous boyfriend ate it up! Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 28, 2014
Even my picky husband took seconds of this dish. He doesn't like soup, so I made it much much thicker. I drained the lentils, but not before I used a little of that juice to purée the veggies. since I made it so thick, it would have been good on top of something else fresh tasting, but I don't know what. It was a great earthy taste followed by a bit of spice from the chorizo I used.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 21, 2013
I really needed more specific instructions about the amount of water to cook with the lentils. Large pot to me, meant my dutch oven, which meant I probably had 3-4 cups too much water. I ended up with a pot of colored water, no taste. I tried to cook the water down and my lentils disolved. I ended up cooking more lentils to add to the pot, adding mixed vegies, a can of diced tomatoes, chicken soup base and some corn startch to thicken it. this all could have been prevented with better directions in the first paragragh.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Mantua, Ohio, USA
Living In: Streetsboro, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 8, 2013
Easy to make vegetarian, or to customize. My roommates and I loved this recipe. The things I did different: first, I sliced a single jalapeno and let that simmer with the lentils; Next, I used spicy soy chorizo, instead of pork or beef chorizo, because I like the flavor better and it has half the fat; Lastly, I added half a can of green chilies to the veggie mix because I needed to use them up. I let the individuals top their own bowl with cotija and mexican crema.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 13, 2013
I tried this recipe and it's delicious. I"m not a fan of lentils but I'll be.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 4, 2013
It was simple, & fast! The only thing I did different was add some fresh diced serrano peppers for a little spice. We didn't puree them. Just added into our own individual bowls. gave it a little crunch as well. We like our food with a little heat. Delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 20) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Back To School Already?
Back To School Already?

Hard to believe, but many kids will be back in school at the end of the month. Get ready.

Cauliflower Recipes
Cauliflower Recipes

You won't believe all the things you can do with cauliflower. It's a great low-carb option.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Tortilla Chorizo Scramble

See how to make a Mexican-style sausage and egg scramble.

Chef John’s Chorizo and Chicken Skewers

Spicy chorizo sausage adds big flavor to lean chicken and veggie skewers.

How to Make Braised Black Lentils

See how to make black lentils braised in chicken stock.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States