Lentils And Spinach Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Feb. 21, 2008
This was seriously good. I used 1 cup of red lentils, and 2.5 cups of vegetable broth in place of the water specified. I also used half a white onion, half a red onion, four cloves of garlic, and during the last five minutes, wilted fresh spinach directly on top of the lentils, along with the remaining salt, pepper, cumin and garlic specified in the recipe. Got rave reviews from vegetarians and meat-eaters alike. Excellent recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
210 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by vanessajbaca

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Albuquerque, New Mexico, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 2, 2007
I have been making this for a few years and love it every time. I always use fresh spinach and substitute chicken broth for the water. Very tasty!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
122 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 24, 2005
This was very good. I doubled everything except used only one onion and used chicken broth for half the water. I also added 3/4 c. finely chopped carrots in the last 15 min. (b/c mom always did) and added fresh spinach in the last 5 minutes of cooking. I suggest doubling this to serve four as a main dish. (Hubby and I had little leftover) Awesome, thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
72 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Spongebob7

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Carmel, New York, USA
Living In: Danbury, Connecticut, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 24, 2009
Like other reviewers, I used 1 cup of lentils and 2 1/2 cups chicken stock. I also added the cumin at the beginning to the onions to develop the flavor. Added sliced carrots during last 10 minutes. Used about 2/3 bunch fresh spinach and wilted in pot. Also added pinch of nutmeg with the spinach and flavor was incredible. Serves 4 over rice. Very filling and a different flavor to help shake up dinnertime. Meateaters won't even notice it's vegetarian it's so hearty. Will put in my dinner rotation.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
64 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 2, 2007
Delicious! I was a little skeptical about the other reviewers' suggestion to double the lentils (I do love my spinach), but I decided to use the full cup anyway. Definitely the best ratio! I also added a can of diced fire-roasted tomatoes and used red lentils. It's actually quite pretty with this mix.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
42 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by GOYA123

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Columbus, Ohio, USA
Living In: New York, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 4, 2008
Loved this....I didnt want a soupy dish...and I followed my fellow AR recipe exchange friends advice and left the amount of water the same....glad I did because the lentils really needed it to cook properly. I wasnt left with much water and I drained off the rest. I sauteed my onion and garlic in evoo, added my baby spinach (I had 2 6 oz bags), wilted that down and then added the cumin and red hot pepper flakes. Scrumptious! Will make again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
35 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SLJ6

Cooking Level: Expert

Photo by PamMar
Reviewed: Jan. 5, 2011
This was a wonderful meatless dinner. The only thing I did differently was that I used fresh baby spinach instead of the frozen but everything else was the same. I served this over rice with a nice crusty bread and white wine. Next time I will add some diced carrots or diced red peppers with the spinach.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
28 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by PamMar

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Pompano Beach, Florida, USA
Living In: Wellington, Florida, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 1, 2003
Delicious and nutritious, not to mention inexpensive! We added carrots to the recipe. I'd recommend perhaps doubling the amount of lentils. The boyfriend would like to add more salt to it, but I thought it was perfectly salted and seasoned. No longer must I envy the cooking aromas of my Indian neighbors.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
22 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 10, 2002
It is very difficult to find meatless dishes that both my husband and I can agree are delicious. This one is fantastic and filling.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
21 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 19, 2001
This was excellent! I used fresh spinach and just microwavedit for three minutes or so. Very traditonal Indian flavor. I was very impressed with this recipe. HIGHLY RECOMMENDED!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
21 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 236) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Gourmet Chicken
Gourmet Chicken

We have over 150 different ways to take chicken from everyday to gourmet.

Springtime Salads
Springtime Salads

All the tenderest leaves, baby vegetables, and early fruits are ready for the picking.

Spring Sale! Only $5.99
Spring Sale! Only $5.99

Great recipes and cooking tips! For a limited time, get a year of Allrecipes Magazine for $5.99.

Related Videos

Light and Fluffy Spinach Quiche

See how to make a tasty, reduced-fat spinach and Cheddar quiche.

Spinach Lasagna III

This hearty meatless lasagna is layered with cheese, fresh spinach, and sauce.

Scallops with Arugula, Lentils, and Butter Beans

Beautifully seared scallops with wilted arugula, butter beans, and lentils.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States