Lentils And Spinach Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Jan. 20, 2014
I liked this recipe a lot. I doubled the cumin, used fresh spinach (I didn't cook it before I added it, just added it to the pot and put the lid on, and stirred it a couple times until the spinach wilted), and added a can of tomatoes at the end. I served it over smashed cauliflower, which I've never tried before, and it was absolutely delicious! I would definitely recommend that to pair this dish with! It's not a super exciting dish really, but somehow it was just REALLY good. I think there is probably a lot you can do to add/tweak this dish to make it a little different if you want, too. I definitely think the tomatoes were a good addition, and adding Rotel instead would probably be a great idea if you like a little spice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 20, 2014
good but too much spinach for the amount of lentils. I doubled the amount of lentils and still it seemed like too much spinach. but the flavor was really good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mim

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 14, 2014
Pretty good. As other reviewers suggested, I doubled the lentils and cooked in broth and added carrots and used fresh spinach. I think this would be fantastic with cashews added in, it's really a very versatile dish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Amissville, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by SabrinaKayeP
Reviewed: Dec. 7, 2013
This recipe was delightful! I have never cooked or eaten lentils before and found them to be easy to make and tasty. I used canned spinach instead of frozen simply because that's what I had in the pantry. I also substituted beef broth for water, left out the salt, added a can of fire roasted tomatoes and a dash of chipotle chili powder. It was filling and less than 300 calories.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 1, 2013
This is the first lentil dish I have made. It was pretty easy to make. I do agree with everyone on doubling the lentils or if you don't want to make a lot, 1/2 the spinach. I will probably make this recipe again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 4, 2013
I found some lentils my vegetarian daughter bought so never made lentils before on a chilly weekend I tried this.I used vegetable stock, more lentils as others suggested. I stayed with the spices and the intended amounts we loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Oct. 27, 2013
Yes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by janellody

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Salem, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 24, 2013
Delicious and a big hit with my husband and son! I used 1 cup of brown lentils with 2.5 cups of chicken broth. I added some chopped carrot after 20 minutes of simmering and stirred in the salt, black pepper, cumin, some cayenne pepper, and the crushed garlic just before putting fresh spinach on top of the lentils to steam for the last five minutes. After the spinach was wilted I stirred it in and added about 1/4 cup of half-and-half to finish. I served this over brown basmati rice. Will definitely be making this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 26, 2013
This recipe is so delicious! I upped the spices a bit (as my husband loves the nuclear) but other than that, wonderful!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Edmonds, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 27, 2013
This is really yummy! Even my mom, who hates lentils with a passion, likes it! I sometimes mix it up a little by adding a bell pepper and only one onion. It's really good. We usually serve it with rice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by truebluekat

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Watertown, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 218) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Light and Fluffy Spinach Quiche

See how to make a tasty, reduced-fat spinach and Cheddar quiche.

Spinach Lasagna III

This hearty meatless lasagna is layered with cheese, fresh spinach, and sauce.

Scallops with Arugula, Lentils, and Butter Beans

Beautifully seared scallops with wilted arugula, butter beans, and lentils.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States