Lentils And Spinach Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jul. 8, 2014
This was super delicious. Will definitely be making it again. I doubled the recipe, used 1 tbsp, plus 1 tsp onion powder instead of onion (only because I was out of onion), chicken stock instead of water, and a 10 ounce package of fresh baby spinach/kale mix instead of frozen spinach. The 10 ounces of greens in the doubled recipe was perfect for my family, although 20 ounces would've still be delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 8, 2014
Delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 4, 2014
Surprisingly good considering its simplicity. For me the best part was the onions, which I cooked slowly in 1 teaspoon ghee & olive oil until caramelized with a teaspoon of sugar. I used 1 cup red lentils (which cooked in like 10 to 15 minutes)and I only used water, no broth, 2 cups. Next time I want to try broth since it would most likely be better yet. Also used fresh spinach added at end and just wilted and served over jasmine rice - enjoyed it very much.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Post Falls, Idaho, USA
Reviewed: May 29, 2014
This is a delicious side dish for blackened tilapia. I add more cumin because we like our food for to be spicier.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 22, 2014
I'm not much of a fan of lentils, but since they are healthy and cheap I make them every now and again. My family really liked this recipe. I was surprised that I actually thought it was good, and I didn't just eat it because it's healthy. My young children will eat it too- they don't love it, but they'll eat it. I followed other reviewers advice to use 2 1/2 cups of broth (not water) and 1 cup of lentils. I also diced bell pepper with the onion and added diced carrots during the last 20 minutes of cooking. It would be easy to hide other finely chopped veggies in this meal.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 22, 2014
Added chopped carrots with the lentils and diced tomatoes 15 minutes later. Let the luquid evaporate (once the lentils were nearly done) most of the way before adding the spinach. Served over short grain brown rice with lima beans. My spinach (and lima bean) crazy daughter was in heaven and neither hubby nor I missed any meat. Delicious. Can't wait to make again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 18, 2014
Like most others, I tweaked this to our taste. 1 white onion, 1 cup red lentils, 3 cups chicken broth, 1-teaspoon Sri Lankan Curry powder and two large andouile sausages sliced 1/2 inch. Threw it all in a crockpot on high for 3 or 4 hours.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Rick

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Portland, Oregon, USA
Photo by Chef Alejandro
Reviewed: May 2, 2014
Enjoyed this dish thoroughly. Highly recommended. I didn't add any salt. I allowed the natural flavor from the onions and garlic to take over! Yummy
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 27, 2014
Super yummy! Just added vegetable broth, mushrooms, carrots, and tomatoes. Delicious!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 16, 2014
This was my first time using lentils and I really enjoyed it. I'm on vacation and had no cumin or lively spices so this might be 5 stars if I had the right spices. As some others suggested I threw in what I had in fridge; 1 celery stalk, 1 carrot, and some squash. I soaked the lentils in a pot of water while we were gone and used fresh spinach. I served it over rice and it was quite filling. My husband said it needed more salt, but I don't trust his opinion in that area. I look forward to trying this again with more spices.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 218) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Light and Fluffy Spinach Quiche

See how to make a tasty, reduced-fat spinach and Cheddar quiche.

Spinach Lasagna III

This hearty meatless lasagna is layered with cheese, fresh spinach, and sauce.

Scallops with Arugula, Lentils, and Butter Beans

Beautifully seared scallops with wilted arugula, butter beans, and lentils.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States