Lentils And Spinach Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 9)
Reviewed: Oct. 14, 2011
Deeee-lish!! This was so tasty! Both my husband and I kept saying mmmm after every other bite! I only made a couple changes/add's... I Added a cup of diced HAM! I bought a ham steak with the bone in it. I diced the ham and set it aside, except I put the leftover BONE in with the lentils while they simmered. I threw the ham in during the last five minutes of simmering. I also added 2 stalks of celery fined chopped for flavor. I then diced up a couple of fresh tomatoes and sliced a couple of green onions and sprinkled them on top as a FRESH garnish. YUM! I served the whole thing over whole-grain rice. I can't wait to make this again!! Oh! I also used FRESH spinach. I just tossed it in during the last minute of simmering. Thank you for this DELICIOUS Recipe!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 12, 2011
This was just okay.... that's it just okay.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 12, 2011
Delicious, quick/easy!! Used 1 cup lentils & 2 cups of vegie broth. Had to add extra water at the end.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 11, 2011
I REALLY screwed this up, but it still tasted pretty good. I can't imagine what it would taste like if I hadn't messed it up, but I'm guessing it would be great. (I forgot to turn the heat down when I was simmering it. It got a bit burnt).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Columbus, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 3, 2011
I was surprised how easy it was to cook up this wonderful concoction. I stayed on track with the recipe but used fresh spinach. Love it. Thanks for sharing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Ottawa, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 2, 2011
This was delicious. I also subsituted the chicken stock and used fresh spinach. I also added plain yogurt and served on a bed of white rice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 1, 2011
Great basic recipe. I used vegetable broth instead of water and added a can of diced tomatoes before adding the spinach. Also a little more cumin then called for. Served over rice makes a filling and delicious meal.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 30, 2011
This was great. Changed it up a little. Put 1 1/2 cups lentil, one big chopped onion, can of fire roasted tom., 32 oz. chicken broth, 2 links of chicken andouille sausage (sp?) (from Costco), the cumin, salt, pepper, smoked paprika, a little nutmeg, a little red pepper and a packet of splenda. I think this comes out to about 5 weight watcher points + for @ 1 1/2 cup.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 30, 2011
This is amazing! My alterations were minor. I upped the spices, added more vegetable broth at the end so that it became a soup (instead of using water at all), and added mushrooms. Perfect vegetarian soup!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 29, 2011
I coincidentally made something very similar to this on a whim last night (before seeing this recipe) and I thought I'd share my version. I used green lentils, olive oil instead of vegetable oil, fresh kale instead of spinach, added a few slices of diced eggplant, and added coriander. I sauteed the eggplant, onions, red bell pepper, and (last minute) kale separably and stirred them together with the lentils and spices once the lentils were finished. Finally, I used this mix to top some left over dill mashed russet potatoes. My husband ate seconds and didn't complain about eating the same thing 2 nights in a row! :-)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Ereshkigal

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Elkhart, Indiana, USA
Living In: Brookline, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 81-90 (of 232) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Let the Slow Cooker Handle It
Let the Slow Cooker Handle It

The best wintertime meals need a long, slow simmer while you're doing something else.

Get Your Money's Worth
Get Your Money's Worth

Our big collection of budget recipes will leave some jingle in your pocket.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Light and Fluffy Spinach Quiche

See how to make a tasty, reduced-fat spinach and Cheddar quiche.

Spinach Lasagna III

This hearty meatless lasagna is layered with cheese, fresh spinach, and sauce.

Scallops with Arugula, Lentils, and Butter Beans

Beautifully seared scallops with wilted arugula, butter beans, and lentils.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States