Lentils And Spinach Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 8)
Reviewed: Oct. 3, 2011
I was surprised how easy it was to cook up this wonderful concoction. I stayed on track with the recipe but used fresh spinach. Love it. Thanks for sharing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Ottawa, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 2, 2011
This was delicious. I also subsituted the chicken stock and used fresh spinach. I also added plain yogurt and served on a bed of white rice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 1, 2011
Great basic recipe. I used vegetable broth instead of water and added a can of diced tomatoes before adding the spinach. Also a little more cumin then called for. Served over rice makes a filling and delicious meal.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 30, 2011
This was great. Changed it up a little. Put 1 1/2 cups lentil, one big chopped onion, can of fire roasted tom., 32 oz. chicken broth, 2 links of chicken andouille sausage (sp?) (from Costco), the cumin, salt, pepper, smoked paprika, a little nutmeg, a little red pepper and a packet of splenda. I think this comes out to about 5 weight watcher points + for @ 1 1/2 cup.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 30, 2011
This is amazing! My alterations were minor. I upped the spices, added more vegetable broth at the end so that it became a soup (instead of using water at all), and added mushrooms. Perfect vegetarian soup!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 29, 2011
I coincidentally made something very similar to this on a whim last night (before seeing this recipe) and I thought I'd share my version. I used green lentils, olive oil instead of vegetable oil, fresh kale instead of spinach, added a few slices of diced eggplant, and added coriander. I sauteed the eggplant, onions, red bell pepper, and (last minute) kale separably and stirred them together with the lentils and spices once the lentils were finished. Finally, I used this mix to top some left over dill mashed russet potatoes. My husband ate seconds and didn't complain about eating the same thing 2 nights in a row! :-)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Ereshkigal

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Elkhart, Indiana, USA
Living In: Brookline, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 17, 2011
Good base recipe that invites you to play with it! As other reviewers suggested I used one cup of lentils and 2 1/2 cups of chicken stock. I also added one 14 oz. can of diced tomatoes with liquid and added fresh spinach during the last ten minutes of cooking. Beefed up on the cumin and added a pinch of cayenne. This was very good and made for great lunch leftovers the next day even without any rice or potato added.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Long Island, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 15, 2011
This was good and hearty. I used vegetable broth in place of the water, maybe 1.5 onions, more cumin, and fresh spinach. My boyfriend and I both really enjoyed this served over a baked potato.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 13, 2011
My family of 6 children are very picky eaters and they loved this vegetarian dish! Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by wunderwifewith6kids

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Vandergrift, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 8, 2011
this has become one of my staple, go-to recipes. its healthy, and best of all delicious!! love, love, love
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 71-80 (of 218) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Light and Fluffy Spinach Quiche

See how to make a tasty, reduced-fat spinach and Cheddar quiche.

Spinach Lasagna III

This hearty meatless lasagna is layered with cheese, fresh spinach, and sauce.

Scallops and Arugula with Lentils and Butter Bea

Beautifully seared scallops with wilted arugula, butter beans, and lentils.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States