Lentils And Spinach Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: May 29, 2014
This is a delicious side dish for blackened tilapia. I add more cumin because we like our food for to be spicier.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 22, 2014
I'm not much of a fan of lentils, but since they are healthy and cheap I make them every now and again. My family really liked this recipe. I was surprised that I actually thought it was good, and I didn't just eat it because it's healthy. My young children will eat it too- they don't love it, but they'll eat it. I followed other reviewers advice to use 2 1/2 cups of broth (not water) and 1 cup of lentils. I also diced bell pepper with the onion and added diced carrots during the last 20 minutes of cooking. It would be easy to hide other finely chopped veggies in this meal.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 22, 2014
Added chopped carrots with the lentils and diced tomatoes 15 minutes later. Let the luquid evaporate (once the lentils were nearly done) most of the way before adding the spinach. Served over short grain brown rice with lima beans. My spinach (and lima bean) crazy daughter was in heaven and neither hubby nor I missed any meat. Delicious. Can't wait to make again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 18, 2014
Like most others, I tweaked this to our taste. 1 white onion, 1 cup red lentils, 3 cups chicken broth, 1-teaspoon Sri Lankan Curry powder and two large andouile sausages sliced 1/2 inch. Threw it all in a crockpot on high for 3 or 4 hours.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Rick

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Portland, Oregon, USA
Photo by Chef Alejandro
Reviewed: May 2, 2014
Enjoyed this dish thoroughly. Highly recommended. I didn't add any salt. I allowed the natural flavor from the onions and garlic to take over! Yummy
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 27, 2014
Super yummy! Just added vegetable broth, mushrooms, carrots, and tomatoes. Delicious!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 16, 2014
This was my first time using lentils and I really enjoyed it. I'm on vacation and had no cumin or lively spices so this might be 5 stars if I had the right spices. As some others suggested I threw in what I had in fridge; 1 celery stalk, 1 carrot, and some squash. I soaked the lentils in a pot of water while we were gone and used fresh spinach. I served it over rice and it was quite filling. My husband said it needed more salt, but I don't trust his opinion in that area. I look forward to trying this again with more spices.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 20, 2014
I liked this recipe a lot. I doubled the cumin, used fresh spinach (I didn't cook it before I added it, just added it to the pot and put the lid on, and stirred it a couple times until the spinach wilted), and added a can of tomatoes at the end. I served it over smashed cauliflower, which I've never tried before, and it was absolutely delicious! I would definitely recommend that to pair this dish with! It's not a super exciting dish really, but somehow it was just REALLY good. I think there is probably a lot you can do to add/tweak this dish to make it a little different if you want, too. I definitely think the tomatoes were a good addition, and adding Rotel instead would probably be a great idea if you like a little spice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 20, 2014
good but too much spinach for the amount of lentils. I doubled the amount of lentils and still it seemed like too much spinach. but the flavor was really good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mim

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 14, 2014
Pretty good. As other reviewers suggested, I doubled the lentils and cooked in broth and added carrots and used fresh spinach. I think this would be fantastic with cashews added in, it's really a very versatile dish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Amissville, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 235) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Passover Celebration
Passover Celebration

Celebrate Passover with Jewish main dishes, desserts, and traditional holiday foods.

Easter Lamb, Ham, and More
Easter Lamb, Ham, and More

Choose your Easter dinner main dish from hams, savory lamb, and over 150 more recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Light and Fluffy Spinach Quiche

See how to make a tasty, reduced-fat spinach and Cheddar quiche.

Spinach Lasagna III

This hearty meatless lasagna is layered with cheese, fresh spinach, and sauce.

Scallops with Arugula, Lentils, and Butter Beans

Beautifully seared scallops with wilted arugula, butter beans, and lentils.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States