Lentils And Spinach Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 15)
Reviewed: Jul. 23, 2009
Really, really delicious! I made a few tweaks, based on what I had handy, but overall I stayed true to the recipe and was very pleased with the final result. I used a large red onion as a sub for the two whites, used one cup of veg broth and one cup of water instead of two cups of water, cut out the salt (because of the broth) and dumped fresh spinach on top of everything during the last 5 minutes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 14, 2009
This is a great tasting and healthy recipe. I used fresh spinach and canned lentils that I had on hand, which reduced the cooking time significantly. I also added about 1 teaspoon of garam masala, a couple more garlic cloves, a half can of diced tomatoes, and a few glugs of chicken broth. Thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 9, 2009
This was absolutely wonderful. Its so healthy too!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Sarasota, Florida, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 28, 2009
This was pretty tasty, added fresh spinach and carrots. Something quick and easy to make. I doubled the recipe and had WAY too much water though, had to let it boil down quite a bit. I would add 3 cups of water only if doubling the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 24, 2009
Like other reviewers, I used 1 cup of lentils and 2 1/2 cups chicken stock. I also added the cumin at the beginning to the onions to develop the flavor. Added sliced carrots during last 10 minutes. Used about 2/3 bunch fresh spinach and wilted in pot. Also added pinch of nutmeg with the spinach and flavor was incredible. Serves 4 over rice. Very filling and a different flavor to help shake up dinnertime. Meateaters won't even notice it's vegetarian it's so hearty. Will put in my dinner rotation.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
60 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 6, 2009
Delish... everybody loved it... the only thing I did was add extra spinach and cumin!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 19, 2009
I enjoyed this recipe a lot. I added a little celery with the onion and made it a little thinner with extra water. I found a sprinkle of parmesan cheese adds a nice finishing touch.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 12, 2009
This is a great base recipe for lentils. I didn't have spinach so had to leave that out but I added sauted green bell pepper and carrots instead.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by k861084

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Vincennes, Indiana, USA
Living In: Austin, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 8, 2009
Absolutely delicious! Great on the budget and very low-cal and high-nutrient. Next time I'm going to double the lentils as many reviewers have said.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Waterville, Maine, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 4, 2009
make it for 8 people. only put one teaspoon of cumin in it
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 141-150 (of 222) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Guilt-Free Munchies
Guilt-Free Munchies

Get healthier takes on your favorite between-meal snacks.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Light and Fluffy Spinach Quiche

See how to make a tasty, reduced-fat spinach and Cheddar quiche.

Spinach Lasagna III

This hearty meatless lasagna is layered with cheese, fresh spinach, and sauce.

Spinach and Strawberry Salad

Mix the colors and flavors of summer and enjoy.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States