Lentils And Spinach Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 15)
Reviewed: Sep. 18, 2010
Easy, relatively fast to prepare, tasty, and good for you... what more can you ask for? I didn't change a thing, and served it over brown rice. Wonderful! I'll be making this often.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 16, 2010
Quick, easy and yummy! Sometimes i substitute other spices for the cumin and it always turns out great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Springfield, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 14, 2010
Made several changes, the end results was very good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 7, 2010
This makes for a wonderful vegetarian meal high in fiber. I used yellow onions and added in 1/4 to 1/2 teaspoon Harissa paste for some zip. The spinach was defrosted and excess water removed then added to the lentils the last 10 minutes of cooking. This was served over steam brown rice with cornbread on the side.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by PaulaG

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Huntsville, Alabama, USA
Living In: Hixson, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 8, 2010
blah and bland. my Rx: used veggie stock instead of water. Doubled garlic cloves. Added matchstick carrots. Then it still seemed to be missing something. Added garam masala and served with a heaping dollop of plain yogurt. Much better.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by *~Lissa~*

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Attleboro, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: Cobb, California, USA
Photo by glopsey
Reviewed: Jun. 6, 2010
This was a really nice dinner. Note that I did change the recipe a bit: doubled the lentils (red), added a Roma tomato, some diced celery, and two small spoonfuls of medium salsa. My husband and I had it with a side of steamed red potatoes, baby carrots, and broccoli as well as some green olives (I'm an addict of those things!). I cooked this until most of the water was gone. My husband thought it could use a little more "bulk" but I would make this again. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by glopsey

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 22, 2010
First time I made lentils. Served with sea bass. Very good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jenessa French

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Vista, California, USA
Living In: San Diego, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 7, 2010
This was more flavorful than I expected, and it was very easy to put together. However, it was a bit soupy; if I made it again, I'd decrease the liquid (I used veg broth). I used fresh spinach, and I caramelized the onions in coconut oil while the lentils were cooking. The recipe doesn't specify which type of lentils to use--I used brown, but I think red would work better with the extra liquid.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KymInNM

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Central Point, Oregon, USA
Living In: Santa Fe, New Mexico, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 29, 2010
I loved this and would have given it 5 stars but my husband didn't care for it. Mainly because he doesn't like the texture of lentils but he said the flavor was really good. I took advise from other reviews and made it with 1c lentils and there was still moisture in the pan so I'm glad I took that advise - I wouldn't have wanted it too soupy. I also added a can of diced tomato, that tasted excellent along with all the other ingredients and seasoning. I will make this from time to time, it's a nice healthy meal even if my husband has texture issues :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jodi

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Taunton, Massachusetts, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 22, 2010
Great!!! This is an easier recipe!! Thanks!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 141-150 (of 236) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Chicken On the Grill
Chicken On the Grill

Something about the grill's heat brings out the best flavor in the simplest chicken recipe.

Summer Desserts
Summer Desserts

We have over 700 dessert recipes just for summer fun.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Light and Fluffy Spinach Quiche

See how to make a tasty, reduced-fat spinach and Cheddar quiche.

Spinach Lasagna III

This hearty meatless lasagna is layered with cheese, fresh spinach, and sauce.

Scallops with Arugula, Lentils, and Butter Beans

Beautifully seared scallops with wilted arugula, butter beans, and lentils.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States