Lentils And Spinach Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 11)
Reviewed: Mar. 15, 2011
Tasty. I added extra spinach (fresh) and more cumin.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by VeggieLovinHippie

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Kingston, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 8, 2011
Wow, this was SO good! I added tomato, and brocoli, just because I had it in the fridge. It was delicious... my daughter, who is picky of course, loved it just as much as I did! Thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kerri Leigh

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Cranbrook, British Columbia, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 12, 2011
Delicious. I sauteed the onions and garlic with sliced carrots and mushrooms while the lentils were cooking. Threw fresh spinach on at the end to wilt it and added a little turmeric. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CookinBug
Home Town: Ithaca, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 11, 2011
This recipe is exceptionally good! My first time making lentils and it was a success. I didnt have all the ingredients so I had to improvise a bit. I subbed with olive oil, red onions, garlic powder and threw in fresh crushed tomatoes. I used cumin but I also used chicken bouillon packets and a little cayenne. I added fresh spinach at the end. Delish!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by missailey

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 9, 2011
I'm a busy college student on a budget AND trying to be healthy-- this was AMAZING! It reminded me of a dish I ate in Spain with garbanzo beans. The smell of it made my roommates want to try it and before we knew it, there was hardly any left! I made a few changes: I used 1 cup lentils, 2.5 cup veggie broth, and just 3/4 white onion. When I cooked the onion I added the cumin, I used frozen spinach, and I added half a can of diced tomatoes (avoiding the juice- wanted it to be more stew-like). Add more water, broth or tomato juice if you want it more soupy. Make sure that the lentils are soft when you add the spinach.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 8, 2011
I followed the suggestions of several other people. I used fresh spinach instead of frozen. I just sauteed it in olive oil, onions, and garlic for about 10 minutes before I added it to the lentils. Also, I threw in a can of fire roasted tomatoes. I drained the juice from the tomatoes into a measuring cup, then added vegetable broth to make 2 cups of liquid - I used the mix instead of water. I also used olive oil instead of vegetable oil and I added the cumin, salt, and pepper to the lentils while they simmered for 35 minutes. We ate it with white rice. It appealed to everyone from my picky 4-year old to my co-workers who are considerably better cooks than I am.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 6, 2011
I used chicken broth in place of water. Served it over brown rice spiral pasta and sprinkled with a little Locatelli cheese. Delicious, gluten free and filling. YUM !!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 5, 2011
This was a good recipe. It wasn't something that I was super impressed with but it was good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by QTSunDoll

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Modesto, California, USA
Living In: Emeryville, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 4, 2011
Very good dish. I just eat it by itself, no rice or potato necessary. I have made a similar recipe on this site, Fried Onions and Lentils. I sprinkle cinnamon on the onions as they are cooking, and put the cumin into the water the lentils cook in. I also doubled the lentils for a better ratio of spinach and lentils.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by bellydancer

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Traverse City, Michigan, USA
Photo by Holly
Reviewed: Feb. 4, 2011
We had this as a main dish, served over white rice & it was pretty good! I loved that it was pretty inexpensive & healthy too. I did use 1/2 chicken broth in place of water & Im glad I did. I will make this again, probably as a side dish next time. My husband & daughter said it was great as a main dish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Holly

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Midwest City, Oklahoma, USA

Displaying results 101-110 (of 225) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Light and Fluffy Spinach Quiche

See how to make a tasty, reduced-fat spinach and Cheddar quiche.

Spinach Lasagna III

This hearty meatless lasagna is layered with cheese, fresh spinach, and sauce.

Scallops with Arugula, Lentils, and Butter Beans

Beautifully seared scallops with wilted arugula, butter beans, and lentils.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States