Lentils And Spinach Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 10)
Reviewed: Jul. 23, 2011
I found this recipe while looking for a low carb recipe that incorporated lentils and spinach and the end result was very good. I even had my 7 yr old and BF try it and they both thought it was good, and neither of them are really very health conscious! :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Brooke129

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: West Monroe, Louisiana, USA
Living In: Fayetteville, Arkansas, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 13, 2011
it was okay. Used veggie stock and added the carrots but still think it needed something more
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Edmonton, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 13, 2011
It’s a good base recipe but I had to add a lot more flavor to mine (~ 1 tsp. curry paste, 1 tsp. turmeric, 2 tsp. tomato paste, a few vegetable bouillon cubes) to flavor it up a bit. I will make this again but will continue to add the extra ingredients. I would suggest for people trying this out to following the recipe and give it a taste test mid way through to see how you feel about it and then add any extras if you feel it’s needed.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 8, 2011
I followed this recipe exactly and it was pretty much tasteless. The only thing I really tasted was the cumin. I wish I had read and taken the suggestions of some of the reviews. If I was to make this again, I would definitely use chicken stock instead of water. I would probably use a bit more garlic and salt. I had to add way too much salt to make this dish edible as it is written. It is a good base recipe but needs much doctoring.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 16, 2011
I am doing a new diet where i could only eat fruits and vegetables for the first 10 days. So my options are limited. However i found this and my bf and I (both Meat Lovers) love this. Thank you bobawood. Oh yeah, instead of the chicken broth i added half a chicken bouillon cube and frozen chopped spinach. I also doubled it to make leftovers for lunch the next day.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 11, 2011
Very good! I too used 1cup lentils and I'm glad I did. I also added about a tsp each of Tumeric & Garam Masala to give it a bit more indian flavor. I also added 3 chopped tomatoes. This is so yummy & easy to make!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 10, 2011
Added a cup of lentils to the original. Also, added dried parsley, and 2 boxes of frozen spinach. Covered over rice and a side of cornbread!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 8, 2011
Its true, it doesn't look like much, but the flavors all together are amazing. We had it served with baked potatoes and while some people complained it was too dry for that, we thought it was great! Also great with a drop of sour cream or greek yogurt on top.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 5, 2011
My family enjoyed this dish. I think that next time I will add a little bit of pepper to add spice. But, overall good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 4, 2011
This was very yummy! I used fresh spinach instead of frozen and also left out the salt because we're watching our sodium intake. It wasn't as good the second day, but it was a tasty and healthy quick dinner that I'm sure I will make again. I served it over leftover mashed potatoes because I already had them on hand, but next time, I think I'll try it over rice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 91-100 (of 228) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Super Bowl Feast
Super Bowl Feast

Chili, brats, and more to feed your hungry football fans.

Sweet Touchdown Treats
Sweet Touchdown Treats

Cheer on your team with a little something sweet.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Light and Fluffy Spinach Quiche

See how to make a tasty, reduced-fat spinach and Cheddar quiche.

Spinach Lasagna III

This hearty meatless lasagna is layered with cheese, fresh spinach, and sauce.

Scallops with Arugula, Lentils, and Butter Beans

Beautifully seared scallops with wilted arugula, butter beans, and lentils.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States