Lentils And Spinach Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Sep. 10, 2014
My husband and I LOVE this recipe and my kids like it well enough to clean their plates! I add carrots the last 10 minutes, substituted some chicken broth for some water and serve over a bit of rice. Fantastic meatless dish and makes great leftovers.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MAIERANNE

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Independence, Iowa, USA
Living In: Ankeny, Iowa, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 6, 2014
Easy to make and delicious! I used a full cup of lentils and 1 cup of chicken broth and 1 cup of water. I served it topped with fresh grated Parmesan cheese and diced garden fresh tomatoes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 12, 2014
WOW! I was looking for a lentil recipe besides the typical soup. This was great b/c I had all the ingredients on hand. It turned out so good. I used coconut oil for the onions, used broth and water, upped the cumin, added tumeric (beautfil color), used fresh spinach, and added some carrots, too. This was the main feature in our meatless meal. Served with toasted pita bread and olive oil. My husband and 3 boys all loved it. They said it was exotic, but delicious. It was SO easy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 9, 2014
I followed the recipe but didn't love or hate the dish. It wasn't until afterwards that I remembered another review saying they used chicken broth instead of water. I'm going to try this again using that suggestion to see if that will change my opinion.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 8, 2014
This was super delicious. Will definitely be making it again. I doubled the recipe, used 1 tbsp, plus 1 tsp onion powder instead of onion (only because I was out of onion), chicken stock instead of water, and a 10 ounce package of fresh baby spinach/kale mix instead of frozen spinach. The 10 ounces of greens in the doubled recipe was perfect for my family, although 20 ounces would've still be delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 8, 2014
Delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 4, 2014
Surprisingly good considering its simplicity. For me the best part was the onions, which I cooked slowly in 1 teaspoon ghee & olive oil until caramelized with a teaspoon of sugar. I used 1 cup red lentils (which cooked in like 10 to 15 minutes)and I only used water, no broth, 2 cups. Next time I want to try broth since it would most likely be better yet. Also used fresh spinach added at end and just wilted and served over jasmine rice - enjoyed it very much.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Post Falls, Idaho, USA
Reviewed: May 29, 2014
This is a delicious side dish for blackened tilapia. I add more cumin because we like our food for to be spicier.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 22, 2014
I'm not much of a fan of lentils, but since they are healthy and cheap I make them every now and again. My family really liked this recipe. I was surprised that I actually thought it was good, and I didn't just eat it because it's healthy. My young children will eat it too- they don't love it, but they'll eat it. I followed other reviewers advice to use 2 1/2 cups of broth (not water) and 1 cup of lentils. I also diced bell pepper with the onion and added diced carrots during the last 20 minutes of cooking. It would be easy to hide other finely chopped veggies in this meal.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 22, 2014
Added chopped carrots with the lentils and diced tomatoes 15 minutes later. Let the luquid evaporate (once the lentils were nearly done) most of the way before adding the spinach. Served over short grain brown rice with lima beans. My spinach (and lima bean) crazy daughter was in heaven and neither hubby nor I missed any meat. Delicious. Can't wait to make again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 222) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Gotta Feed the Football Fans
Gotta Feed the Football Fans

Get cheer-worthy chili, ribs, dips, snacks, and treats.

New! Free Menus
New! Free Menus

Now you can try Menu Planner free. Start your 30-day trial today.

Related Videos

Light and Fluffy Spinach Quiche

See how to make a tasty, reduced-fat spinach and Cheddar quiche.

Spinach Lasagna III

This hearty meatless lasagna is layered with cheese, fresh spinach, and sauce.

Spinach and Strawberry Salad

Mix the colors and flavors of summer and enjoy.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States