Lentils And Spinach Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Nov. 12, 2014
I stumbled upon this recipe looking for ways to cook spinach that was about to go bad. So good and incredibly easy to make with just a few ingredients.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 28, 2014
Fantastic recipe. I added a little chicken buillon instead of salt and used a bag of baby spinach instead of frozen. Served with jasmine rice. Easy, healthy, delicious meal.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Laura

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Photo by yellowdaizeez
Reviewed: Oct. 22, 2014
This was delish, however I did make changes. I doubled the lentils and soaked them over night. I used olive oil instead of vegetable, and added about an extra 1/2 cup water to compensate for extra lentils. I used an extra clove garlic. I also used fresh baby spinach not frozen.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 10, 2014
My husband and I LOVE this recipe and my kids like it well enough to clean their plates! I add carrots the last 10 minutes, substituted some chicken broth for some water and serve over a bit of rice. Fantastic meatless dish and makes great leftovers.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MAIERANNE

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Independence, Iowa, USA
Living In: Ankeny, Iowa, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 6, 2014
Easy to make and delicious! I used a full cup of lentils and 1 cup of chicken broth and 1 cup of water. I served it topped with fresh grated Parmesan cheese and diced garden fresh tomatoes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 12, 2014
WOW! I was looking for a lentil recipe besides the typical soup. This was great b/c I had all the ingredients on hand. It turned out so good. I used coconut oil for the onions, used broth and water, upped the cumin, added tumeric (beautfil color), used fresh spinach, and added some carrots, too. This was the main feature in our meatless meal. Served with toasted pita bread and olive oil. My husband and 3 boys all loved it. They said it was exotic, but delicious. It was SO easy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 9, 2014
I followed the recipe but didn't love or hate the dish. It wasn't until afterwards that I remembered another review saying they used chicken broth instead of water. I'm going to try this again using that suggestion to see if that will change my opinion.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 8, 2014
This was super delicious. Will definitely be making it again. I doubled the recipe, used 1 tbsp, plus 1 tsp onion powder instead of onion (only because I was out of onion), chicken stock instead of water, and a 10 ounce package of fresh baby spinach/kale mix instead of frozen spinach. The 10 ounces of greens in the doubled recipe was perfect for my family, although 20 ounces would've still be delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by kassbee
Reviewed: Jun. 8, 2014
Delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 4, 2014
Surprisingly good considering its simplicity. For me the best part was the onions, which I cooked slowly in 1 teaspoon ghee & olive oil until caramelized with a teaspoon of sugar. I used 1 cup red lentils (which cooked in like 10 to 15 minutes)and I only used water, no broth, 2 cups. Next time I want to try broth since it would most likely be better yet. Also used fresh spinach added at end and just wilted and served over jasmine rice - enjoyed it very much.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Post Falls, Idaho, USA

Displaying results 1-10 (of 225) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

2014 Pie Countdown
2014 Pie Countdown

We're counting down from now until Thanksgiving with a great pie every day. Join the fun.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Light and Fluffy Spinach Quiche

See how to make a tasty, reduced-fat spinach and Cheddar quiche.

Spinach Lasagna III

This hearty meatless lasagna is layered with cheese, fresh spinach, and sauce.

Scallops with Arugula, Lentils, and Butter Beans

Beautifully seared scallops with wilted arugula, butter beans, and lentils.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States