Lentils and Rice with Fried Onions (Mujadarrah) Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 9)
Reviewed: Mar. 28, 2012
Very good, needed to add a bit more cumin. Even hubby,Mr. Picky, liked it. Easy, quick and hardy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Marilyn Rettger Hukill

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Mantua, Ohio, USA
Living In: Lacombe, Louisiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 16, 2012
I made it with brown basmati rice, a teaspoon of cumin and 1/4 teaspoon of cinnamon and some fresh spinach thrown in. It was awesome. Definitely a keeper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 12, 2012
Sorry, but this is truly lacking in flavor and is nowhere close to the true recipe and I don't understand the high ratings! Mujadarrah needs cinnamon, cumin and just a touch of garlic in order to give it flavor. Salt and pepper are important too, but without the cinnamon, cumin and garlic, it is flavorless. Further, depends on where the recipe comes from, but it really is better with bulgur wheat instead of rice. Rice makes it mushy. The lentils and bulgur give it a more firm texture. Last, to truly brown those onions, they need to be cooked longer than ten minutes. I cook mujadarrah about five or six times a year and order just about every other week at one of the hundreds Middle Eastern restaurants around our home - this recipe is nowhere close to the real thing. It's like using just salt and pepper to season tacos.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 20, 2012
I really LOVE this recipe. It is incredibly easy to make and suits all of my family's dietary needs. I cook my rice and lentils separate, I steam my rice, and then cook a bunch more onions because I love the taste. I do believe some of the other reviewers recommended adding spice to the lentils, so that's what I did too and it gave the lentils a little bit more flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ally_hindal

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 9, 2012
This is such an interesting selection of flavors! It's one of those dishes where I had a hard time getting into it the first time, because it was so far from anything I was accustomed to, but then I found myself craving it a few weeks later. Easy, cheap, and delicious! Oh, and I make mine in a rice cooker. I cook the lentils as suggested for ~15 minutes, then dump them (water included) and the rice into my rice cooker. I then use the lentil pan for the onions, and can cut down on the dishes a little.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 6, 2012
Followed the tips given in the other reviews and like it pretty well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 31, 2012
We really liked this, but agree with some others that it was pretty plain. We added a little bit of lowries seasoning at the end, which really helped. Don't skimp on the onions...they are the best part!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by starqueen43

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Portland, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 29, 2012
My Mom made this on meatless Fridays. Great comfort food. Instead of yogurt lemon juice can be used and it tastes great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 19, 2012
I made this tonight and I am so glad I have some left for tomorrow. I did use brown rice and cooked the lentils and rice together. I added 1 beef bullion, 1 onion bullion and 1 garlic bullion cube into the rice/lentils while cooking. I also added cumin into the rice and cinnamon into the onions as they cooked. My new favorite meal. Thank you, thank you, thank you.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 11, 2012
Made with veg stock, 1/2 t cumin, added a dash of cinnimon to the onions. Used 2 small onions, but wanted more. The second time I made it with 4 small onions.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 81-90 (of 519) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Super Bowl Feast
Super Bowl Feast

Chili, brats, and more to feed your hungry football fans.

Sweet Touchdown Treats
Sweet Touchdown Treats

Cheer on your team with a little something sweet.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Chinese Chicken Fried Rice II

A fantastic use for leftover rice, this is one restaurant quality dish!

How to Make Fried Rice

See how to turn leftovers into a fast and delicious meal.

Fried Rice Restaurant Style

This easy fried rice goes with just about any entrée.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States