Lentils and Rice with Fried Onions (Mujadarrah) Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 8)
Reviewed: Aug. 23, 2012
Hubby made this the other day when we had guests for dinner, it was good but I think lacking just a little in flavor. May saute onions in butter next time for some added flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jackie C

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Claridge, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Ooltewah, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by RJT
Reviewed: Aug. 21, 2012
This was so good! As per some of the reviews I changed some things. I used chicken broth instead of water for the lentils and rice. I didn't have any cumin so I added some curry instead....YUM!! Also added the cinnamon to the frying onions. Those few tips really took it to a wonderful level. Topped with some greek yogurt. My whole family loved this!! Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 17, 2012
Wonder side dish that is healthy and tasty! I would highly recommend making it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 17, 2012
My family really enjoys this recipe. It is certainly delicious as written but after reading the reviews I have made it with the following changes: Cook the lentils in chicken stock, add 1 t. cumin and a couple pinches of cinnamon when you add the rice, and for us, because we love the onions, triple the amount of onions you cook and over low heat let them brown a good long time... I cook mine down for about 45 min. Serve with plain yogurt... so delicious!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Ashtabula, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 16, 2012
I loved this, I used basmati rice and added a dash of cinnamon to the onions and cumin to the lentils as rec. by others. Def use the greek yogurt, delicious and easy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sheri

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Labelle, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 2, 2012
Vegetarian guy here. I love this recipe because it is super delicious and healthy for vegetarians. I like adding cumin (as suggested here) plus half a cube of veggie stock and salt & pepper to the lentils before adding rice. Then I like to add a rounded teaspoon of butter to stir into the whole pot after everything is done cooking. Finally, one large onion is not enough! I suggest two or even three.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 23, 2012
It's okay. The last lentil and rice recipe I made were more flavorful. It had garlic, cumin, cinnamon, etc. I chose to try this recipe because it uses white rice and the directions are different. The submitter should've listed how much water to use. I used 1 cup lentils (2 cup water) and 1 cup rice (1 1/2 cup water).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by moaa

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Jul. 12, 2012
This dish was great! It only didnt get five stars because I did add a half teaspoon of cinnamon when I was cooking the lentils and only a half teaspoon of salt. When I added the rice then I added a full teaspoon of salt, didnt come out too salty or anything. I also cooked the lentils with 2 1/2 cups water, if not they would have dried out. I served this with sour cream because I didnt have yogurt and it was great the onions tasted delicious, I took the recommendation of other reviewers and added sugar while cooking them. My extremely picky 17month old ate his entire serving(sans onions) so this will 100% be a staple in my kitchen!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 10, 2012
I make this on the regular. Super easy, super good and super good for you. I always add a bullion cube and a tbsp of cumin to the lentils, and I add a little cinnamon to the onions. White onions are better than yellow if you can find them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by thugglife

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: East Lansing, Michigan, USA
Living In: Bucharest, Bucuresti, Romania
Reviewed: May 11, 2012
so easy and so good
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by terca

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Crescent City, California, USA

Displaying results 71-80 (of 523) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Chicken On the Grill
Chicken On the Grill

Something about the grill's heat brings out the best flavor in the simplest chicken recipe.

Summer Desserts
Summer Desserts

We have over 700 dessert recipes just for summer fun.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Chinese Chicken Fried Rice II

A fantastic use for leftover rice, this is one restaurant quality dish!

How to Make Fried Rice

See how to turn leftovers into a fast and delicious meal.

Fried Rice Restaurant Style

This easy fried rice goes with just about any entrée.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States