Lentils and Rice with Fried Onions (Mujadarrah) Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 7)
Reviewed: Jan. 7, 2013
Comfort food is usually not highly spiced or flavored, and as I didnt' grow up eating this, it did seem a bit bland to me. But I still liked the dish and think it has good potential for me. I used sweet onion, brown basmati rice, and puy lentils as those are my favorites, and I did add a pinch of cayenne for a little heat. I would make again but would add more spices for a little more flavor for my tastes. Still it's simple and good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by wisweetp

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Waukesha, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 15, 2012
This is a great recipe. I did cut the olive oil down to two tablespoons and used a no stick pan. It cuts down on the fat and calories and it doesn't affect the taste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 22, 2012
I tried your recipe last night and I just have to say BRAVO! The blending of the onions, lentils and rice...oh my gosh! This was sooooooo good! This recipe is a keeper ;-)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CynthiaP

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Denver, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 26, 2012
I make something like this but... I put carrots etc in it. I use cumin/curry powder/turmeric/butter/salt as well. I also use Basmati rice. I also make a giant batch as I live in a house of males. LOL
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 23, 2012
Hubby made this the other day when we had guests for dinner, it was good but I think lacking just a little in flavor. May saute onions in butter next time for some added flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jackie C

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Claridge, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Ooltewah, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by RJT
Reviewed: Aug. 21, 2012
This was so good! As per some of the reviews I changed some things. I used chicken broth instead of water for the lentils and rice. I didn't have any cumin so I added some curry instead....YUM!! Also added the cinnamon to the frying onions. Those few tips really took it to a wonderful level. Topped with some greek yogurt. My whole family loved this!! Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 17, 2012
Wonder side dish that is healthy and tasty! I would highly recommend making it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 17, 2012
My family really enjoys this recipe. It is certainly delicious as written but after reading the reviews I have made it with the following changes: Cook the lentils in chicken stock, add 1 t. cumin and a couple pinches of cinnamon when you add the rice, and for us, because we love the onions, triple the amount of onions you cook and over low heat let them brown a good long time... I cook mine down for about 45 min. Serve with plain yogurt... so delicious!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Ashtabula, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 16, 2012
I loved this, I used basmati rice and added a dash of cinnamon to the onions and cumin to the lentils as rec. by others. Def use the greek yogurt, delicious and easy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sheri

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Labelle, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 2, 2012
Vegetarian guy here. I love this recipe because it is super delicious and healthy for vegetarians. I like adding cumin (as suggested here) plus half a cube of veggie stock and salt & pepper to the lentils before adding rice. Then I like to add a rounded teaspoon of butter to stir into the whole pot after everything is done cooking. Finally, one large onion is not enough! I suggest two or even three.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 61-70 (of 517) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Chinese Chicken Fried Rice II

A fantastic use for leftover rice, this is one restaurant quality dish!

How to Make Fried Rice

See how to turn leftovers into a fast and delicious meal.

Fried Rice Restaurant Style

This easy fried rice goes with just about any entrée.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States