Lentils and Rice with Fried Onions (Mujadarrah) Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 7)
Reviewed: Mar. 25, 2013
First of all, most of lentils smushed when I went to stir it when it was finished. But I digress...As is, I thought it was rather bland. SPICE IT UP! I followed another reviewer who mentioned that traditional Mujadarrah has cinnamon in it. Added that, and thought it tasted like pancakes. Then I added cumin as well and BOOM! Delicious. Even better the next day. I would make it again with the changes I made.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 13, 2013
A very hearty yet healthy dish. I add more spice to kick up the flavor. Def add cinnamon to the onions and cook way longer than the recipe says, about half an hour.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 22, 2013
I made this without the rice, and it was simple & delicious, even without yogurt. I think yogurt would be good if you spiced this up - it's pretty much spice-less, which is a little odd, but still surprisingly tasty. A lot of the positive reviews seem to recommend adding some spices, which is not what this recipe calls for.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 17, 2013
Made this for the first time, and added 4T. of cilantro base cooking flavoring. I will make this again, but will utilize some of the additions recommended by other reviewers; cinnamon, chicken bouillon and cumin. I did use brown rather than white rice. I followed the directions of adding enough water to cover the lentils and then the rice and lentil mixture.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 7, 2013
Comfort food is usually not highly spiced or flavored, and as I didnt' grow up eating this, it did seem a bit bland to me. But I still liked the dish and think it has good potential for me. I used sweet onion, brown basmati rice, and puy lentils as those are my favorites, and I did add a pinch of cayenne for a little heat. I would make again but would add more spices for a little more flavor for my tastes. Still it's simple and good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by wisweetp

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Waukesha, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 15, 2012
This is a great recipe. I did cut the olive oil down to two tablespoons and used a no stick pan. It cuts down on the fat and calories and it doesn't affect the taste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 22, 2012
I tried your recipe last night and I just have to say BRAVO! The blending of the onions, lentils and rice...oh my gosh! This was sooooooo good! This recipe is a keeper ;-)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CynthiaP

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Denver, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 26, 2012
I make something like this but... I put carrots etc in it. I use cumin/curry powder/turmeric/butter/salt as well. I also use Basmati rice. I also make a giant batch as I live in a house of males. LOL
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 23, 2012
Hubby made this the other day when we had guests for dinner, it was good but I think lacking just a little in flavor. May saute onions in butter next time for some added flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jackie C

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Claridge, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Ooltewah, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by RJT
Reviewed: Aug. 21, 2012
This was so good! As per some of the reviews I changed some things. I used chicken broth instead of water for the lentils and rice. I didn't have any cumin so I added some curry instead....YUM!! Also added the cinnamon to the frying onions. Those few tips really took it to a wonderful level. Topped with some greek yogurt. My whole family loved this!! Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 61-70 (of 521) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Gourmet Chicken
Gourmet Chicken

We have over 150 different ways to take chicken from everyday to gourmet.

Springtime Salads
Springtime Salads

All the tenderest leaves, baby vegetables, and early fruits are ready for the picking.

Spring Sale! Only $5.99
Spring Sale! Only $5.99

Great recipes and cooking tips! For a limited time, get a year of Allrecipes Magazine for $5.99.

Related Videos

Chinese Chicken Fried Rice II

A fantastic use for leftover rice, this is one restaurant quality dish!

How to Make Fried Rice

See how to turn leftovers into a fast and delicious meal.

Fried Rice Restaurant Style

This easy fried rice goes with just about any entrée.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States