Lentils and Rice with Fried Onions (Mujadarrah) Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Jun. 19, 2013
I just made this, and like a few others, I altered the recipe as I cooked. I added garam masala and cumin while the lentils and rice were cooking, at the suggestions of other users. In the end I decided there wasn't enough onion so I added about half an onion more. I also threw in some rice vinegar, which gave it a nice kick. Definitely don't skip the yogurt, it lightens the dish, I even threw in a spoonful of garlic hummus to add to the flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 18, 2013
This was delicious. I used three cups of vegetable broth with the lentils. Then I added 1 1/2 cups water salt, pepper and a pinch of cinnamon when I put the rice in. I used Basmati rice. I just mixed in the caramelized onions at the end. I forgot to put on the sour cream, but it didn't matter.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Marj

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 12, 2013
A very easy recipe to make for anyone, all ingredients are readily available, and prep/cooking time were all just over an hour to complete. I also took some advice/variations from fellow members and used less olive oil, more onion, 3/4 of a chicken bouillon cube, a few light shakes of cumin along with a pinch of curry powder and paprika. Otherwise followed recipe exactly and wound up with a very unique flavor when topped with greek yogurt and onions, moist evenly cooked texture bursting with flavor that was a really nice surprise. This will be served every 7-10 days in my home from now on, makes a great main course with crusty bread and a salad...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 25, 2013
First of all, most of lentils smushed when I went to stir it when it was finished. But I digress...As is, I thought it was rather bland. SPICE IT UP! I followed another reviewer who mentioned that traditional Mujadarrah has cinnamon in it. Added that, and thought it tasted like pancakes. Then I added cumin as well and BOOM! Delicious. Even better the next day. I would make it again with the changes I made.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 13, 2013
A very hearty yet healthy dish. I add more spice to kick up the flavor. Def add cinnamon to the onions and cook way longer than the recipe says, about half an hour.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 22, 2013
I made this without the rice, and it was simple & delicious, even without yogurt. I think yogurt would be good if you spiced this up - it's pretty much spice-less, which is a little odd, but still surprisingly tasty. A lot of the positive reviews seem to recommend adding some spices, which is not what this recipe calls for.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 17, 2013
Made this for the first time, and added 4T. of cilantro base cooking flavoring. I will make this again, but will utilize some of the additions recommended by other reviewers; cinnamon, chicken bouillon and cumin. I did use brown rather than white rice. I followed the directions of adding enough water to cover the lentils and then the rice and lentil mixture.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 7, 2013
Comfort food is usually not highly spiced or flavored, and as I didnt' grow up eating this, it did seem a bit bland to me. But I still liked the dish and think it has good potential for me. I used sweet onion, brown basmati rice, and puy lentils as those are my favorites, and I did add a pinch of cayenne for a little heat. I would make again but would add more spices for a little more flavor for my tastes. Still it's simple and good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by wisweetp

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Waukesha, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 15, 2012
This is a great recipe. I did cut the olive oil down to two tablespoons and used a no stick pan. It cuts down on the fat and calories and it doesn't affect the taste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 22, 2012
I tried your recipe last night and I just have to say BRAVO! The blending of the onions, lentils and rice...oh my gosh! This was sooooooo good! This recipe is a keeper ;-)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CynthiaP

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Denver, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 504) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

New! Free Menus
New! Free Menus

Now you can try Menu Planner free. Start your 30-day trial today.

Related Videos

How to Make Fried Rice

See how to turn leftovers into a fast and delicious meal.

Fried Rice Restaurant Style

This easy fried rice goes with just about any entrée.

Chinese Chicken Fried Rice II

A fantastic use for leftover rice, this is one restaurant quality dish!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States