Lentils and Rice with Fried Onions (Mujadarrah) Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Mar. 6, 2014
Yummy! I had to sub dried green spilt peas. Because we had to go out for a few hours right before dinner, I transferred the peas to a crock pot when it was time to add the rice. Layered rice, subbed vegetable broth for water to cover, then added the cooked onions. Cooked on high for a few hours. I was afraid I'd have split pea soup but the consistency of the peas was good. Needed more broth to make the rice a little softer though, I think. The onions weren't too mushy this way, either. They were so good if make more of them next time. Husband loved this and kept going back for more helpings, and he normally doesn't like peas. Hardly any leftovers. I know I subbed the main ingredient (didn't have lentils on hand) but I'm sure this recipe is delicious as written, too! Will definitely try again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 6, 2014
Totally LOVE this dish! The first time I made it I followed the exact recipe and used only one onion. If you truly carmelize the onion it basically shrinks to almost nothing. The second time I didn't have any rice, so I subbed red quinoa with delicious results. I cooked the lentils and quinoa separate and combined once cooked. I also cooked the lentils in chicken stock and added some cumin and garam masala. I carmelized 2 med/large onions and next time will use 3! I strained plain yogurt (put a paper towel in a fine mesh colander set over a bowl) to make it thick like greek yogurt to add on top. Served it with Mediterranean Chickpea Salad from this site. So good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by GINNY671

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Santa Ana, California, USA
Living In: Minneapolis, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 6, 2014
A little bland as written, but wonderful with salt, a generous amount of sumac, a little cinnamon, a little red pepper and a touch of cumin. Since we nearly always have cooked brown rice in our refrigerator, I sauteed the onions, added cooked lentils, cooked brown rice, a little chicken broth for moisture and seasoned to taste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 5, 2014
This was delicious. I used to live in Egypt and I know what the onions are supposed to be like, as this is how they serve onions with Koushari. I cooked mine carefully for an hour, and I still didn't get it right. Close, but not quite. I will keep trying! For my taste, I added cumin and garlic, and a little garam masala to the rice/lentils. I loved this!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by cooks4forty

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Stoughton, Wisconsin, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 5, 2014
I liked this but I took the advice of someone else and added garam marsala, garlic and ginger. I don't think I spelled that correctly but you get the idea.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Rockford, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 5, 2014
This is a staple in our house, I make it at least once a week having grown up with it. We use allspice which gives it a really nice flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 21, 2014
I love lentils soup and am trying to eat better..with that said, i wasnt impressed with this recipe. I did add cumin and cinnamon and that really didnt help with the flavor. The onions were a good addition. It was also dry..
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 13, 2014
I am definitely adding this one to my recipe box. I like a lot of onions, so I sliced four medium size ones, as they do cook down a lot. Do take your time caramelizing them. Also, I added cumin and vegetable broth to lentil-rice mix. So flavorful!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Anya Andrews

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 7, 2014
This was really lovely! I used brown rice (the only white I had on hand was arborio and that wouldn't do) and since I made this change I cooked it in the pot with the lentils at the same time. Both were perfectly done at the same time. I added about half a veggie boullion cube to the cooking water, as mentioned in some reviews. I didn't realize I was low on dried lentils, so I used only 2/3 cup of lentils and 1 + 1/3 cup of rice, to make up the difference. I agree with other reviews that the onions are the best part, so using more couldn't hurt. ;) I grew up with lots of traditional Ukrainian food and anyone from similar backgrounds knows the unstoppable flavour team of fried onion + sour cream, but I also found this delicious without any yogurt/sour cream. Leftovers were very versatile and I will definitely make this from now on! Thanks so much for sharing this recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Etobicoke, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Toronto, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by tcorandall
Reviewed: Jan. 5, 2014
I loved this recipe! It was delicious, my husband enjoyed it too. The only change I made was I added 1 tablespoon of butter to the lentil & rice mixture and sautéed 2 onions instead of one.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 523) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

French Toast
French Toast

French toast is such a perfect breakfast, light lunch, or even supper on these warm days.

Crisp Cucumber Salads
Crisp Cucumber Salads

Try one of our 100-plus cool cucumber salads.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Chinese Chicken Fried Rice II

A fantastic use for leftover rice, this is one restaurant quality dish!

How to Make Fried Rice

See how to turn leftovers into a fast and delicious meal.

Fried Rice Restaurant Style

This easy fried rice goes with just about any entrée.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States