Lentils and Rice with Fried Onions (Mujadarrah) Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Mar. 7, 2014
I've never had Mujadarrah before, and this dish was really good! The suggestions from reviewers were helpful, especially those for whom this was an ethnic dish. I did arrive at the finished product in a slightly different manner. I sauteed about two large onions for 15 minutes, adding cinammon (brings flavor to another level!) and cumin to the onions. Separately microwaved long-grain rice according to pkg directions, adding two chicken bouillon cubes to the water. Had to use up some TJoes prepared lentils (very good btw), so heated and added those to 1/2 the onions (saving 1/2 for topping), rice, salt and pepper. Also added some sodium-free chicken broth, as needed, to keep it moist while just to heat up. Served topped with the sauteed onions, and ff Greek yogurt (a must!) and some kalamita olives on the side. A great Lenten meal! Thanks for the great recipe, Melissa...it's a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 7, 2014
I've never had mujadara before so I don't know what it's supposed to taste like, but I think it turned out pretty good. I used 2 onions and added cinnamon, cumin, salt and cayenne to them after they were cooked. I let the onions cook for closer to 20 minutes. I also used brown basmati rice instead. I used this recipe in addition to another recipe that had more detailed steps. It said to add the rice to the pan with the onions once they're done cooking and then add the cooked lentils, 3 cups of water and 1 1/2 tsp of salt. I also added a chicken flavored boost pack at this time. Then I covered it and let it simmer for 30 minutes. The yogurt was a must for me. I used nonfat plain greek yogurt. This was easy to make with little prep time and it travels well. I can take this to work for lunch for several days!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 6, 2014
Read the helpful reviews....I learned a lot. I used 1 cup lentils with 2 cups water. Then added 3/4 cup rice with 1 1/2 cups water. Was perfect for us. I tried adding cumin and we didn't like it. We are used to it very simple. I did add 1 1/2 teaspoons salt which seemed like a good amount.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 6, 2014
Yummy! I had to sub dried green spilt peas. Because we had to go out for a few hours right before dinner, I transferred the peas to a crock pot when it was time to add the rice. Layered rice, subbed vegetable broth for water to cover, then added the cooked onions. Cooked on high for a few hours. I was afraid I'd have split pea soup but the consistency of the peas was good. Needed more broth to make the rice a little softer though, I think. The onions weren't too mushy this way, either. They were so good if make more of them next time. Husband loved this and kept going back for more helpings, and he normally doesn't like peas. Hardly any leftovers. I know I subbed the main ingredient (didn't have lentils on hand) but I'm sure this recipe is delicious as written, too! Will definitely try again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 6, 2014
Totally LOVE this dish! The first time I made it I followed the exact recipe and used only one onion. If you truly carmelize the onion it basically shrinks to almost nothing. The second time I didn't have any rice, so I subbed red quinoa with delicious results. I cooked the lentils and quinoa separate and combined once cooked. I also cooked the lentils in chicken stock and added some cumin and garam masala. I carmelized 2 med/large onions and next time will use 3! I strained plain yogurt (put a paper towel in a fine mesh colander set over a bowl) to make it thick like greek yogurt to add on top. Served it with Mediterranean Chickpea Salad from this site. So good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by GINNY671

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Santa Ana, California, USA
Living In: Minneapolis, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 6, 2014
A little bland as written, but wonderful with salt, a generous amount of sumac, a little cinnamon, a little red pepper and a touch of cumin. Since we nearly always have cooked brown rice in our refrigerator, I sauteed the onions, added cooked lentils, cooked brown rice, a little chicken broth for moisture and seasoned to taste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 5, 2014
This was delicious. I used to live in Egypt and I know what the onions are supposed to be like, as this is how they serve onions with Koushari. I cooked mine carefully for an hour, and I still didn't get it right. Close, but not quite. I will keep trying! For my taste, I added cumin and garlic, and a little garam masala to the rice/lentils. I loved this!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by cooks4forty

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Stoughton, Wisconsin, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 5, 2014
I liked this but I took the advice of someone else and added garam marsala, garlic and ginger. I don't think I spelled that correctly but you get the idea.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Rockford, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 5, 2014
This is a staple in our house, I make it at least once a week having grown up with it. We use allspice which gives it a really nice flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 21, 2014
I love lentils soup and am trying to eat better..with that said, i wasnt impressed with this recipe. I did add cumin and cinnamon and that really didnt help with the flavor. The onions were a good addition. It was also dry..
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 516) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Leftover Central
Leftover Central

The hard work's over, now celebrate the leftovers.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Chinese Chicken Fried Rice II

A fantastic use for leftover rice, this is one restaurant quality dish!

How to Make Fried Rice

See how to turn leftovers into a fast and delicious meal.

Fried Rice Restaurant Style

This easy fried rice goes with just about any entrée.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States