Lentils and Rice with Fried Onions (Mujadarrah) Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Jul. 27, 2013
Great taste! Everybody including my 1 year old loved it. I used caramelized red onions and mozzarella cheese on top instead of sour cream/plain yogurt. Yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 16, 2013
This is delicious! I had split red lentils and basmati rice cooked in vegetable broth. Put it together with Greek yogurt, a Thai cucumber salad, and the onions (I used butter and vietnamese cinnamon). I finish where I started: delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 19, 2013
I just made this, and like a few others, I altered the recipe as I cooked. I added garam masala and cumin while the lentils and rice were cooking, at the suggestions of other users. In the end I decided there wasn't enough onion so I added about half an onion more. I also threw in some rice vinegar, which gave it a nice kick. Definitely don't skip the yogurt, it lightens the dish, I even threw in a spoonful of garlic hummus to add to the flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 18, 2013
This was delicious. I used three cups of vegetable broth with the lentils. Then I added 1 1/2 cups water salt, pepper and a pinch of cinnamon when I put the rice in. I used Basmati rice. I just mixed in the caramelized onions at the end. I forgot to put on the sour cream, but it didn't matter.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Marj

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 12, 2013
A very easy recipe to make for anyone, all ingredients are readily available, and prep/cooking time were all just over an hour to complete. I also took some advice/variations from fellow members and used less olive oil, more onion, 3/4 of a chicken bouillon cube, a few light shakes of cumin along with a pinch of curry powder and paprika. Otherwise followed recipe exactly and wound up with a very unique flavor when topped with greek yogurt and onions, moist evenly cooked texture bursting with flavor that was a really nice surprise. This will be served every 7-10 days in my home from now on, makes a great main course with crusty bread and a salad...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 25, 2013
First of all, most of lentils smushed when I went to stir it when it was finished. But I digress...As is, I thought it was rather bland. SPICE IT UP! I followed another reviewer who mentioned that traditional Mujadarrah has cinnamon in it. Added that, and thought it tasted like pancakes. Then I added cumin as well and BOOM! Delicious. Even better the next day. I would make it again with the changes I made.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 13, 2013
A very hearty yet healthy dish. I add more spice to kick up the flavor. Def add cinnamon to the onions and cook way longer than the recipe says, about half an hour.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 22, 2013
I made this without the rice, and it was simple & delicious, even without yogurt. I think yogurt would be good if you spiced this up - it's pretty much spice-less, which is a little odd, but still surprisingly tasty. A lot of the positive reviews seem to recommend adding some spices, which is not what this recipe calls for.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 17, 2013
Made this for the first time, and added 4T. of cilantro base cooking flavoring. I will make this again, but will utilize some of the additions recommended by other reviewers; cinnamon, chicken bouillon and cumin. I did use brown rather than white rice. I followed the directions of adding enough water to cover the lentils and then the rice and lentil mixture.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 7, 2013
Comfort food is usually not highly spiced or flavored, and as I didnt' grow up eating this, it did seem a bit bland to me. But I still liked the dish and think it has good potential for me. I used sweet onion, brown basmati rice, and puy lentils as those are my favorites, and I did add a pinch of cayenne for a little heat. I would make again but would add more spices for a little more flavor for my tastes. Still it's simple and good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by wisweetp

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Waukesha, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 496) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Fried Rice

See how to turn leftovers into a fast and delicious meal.

Fried Rice Restaurant Style

This easy fried rice goes with just about any entrée.

Chinese Chicken Fried Rice I

A quick chicken stir-fry with loads of crisp, colorful vegetables.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States