Lentils and Rice with Fried Onions (Mujadarrah) Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: May 12, 2014
I added cumin, parsley, ginger, garlic, cayenne pepper, and a bit of cinnamon and tumeric to the mix of onions/brown rice and lentils. (all the good anti-cancer spices!) It was delicious...my husband liked his with yogurt and we ate ours with the sour cream in a burrito wrap. Yummy and totally something for Lent!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 9, 2014
I thought it needed some kind of spice. It was pretty bland.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 22, 2014
We must be used to food with more flavor. This wasn't bad, but kind of boring.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 18, 2014
Was looking for something reasonably healthy for dinner tonight and I'm glad I found this! I did as others have suggested and added cinnamon to the onions about midway through the 35-40 minutes I cooked them. I also added cumin to the lentils and (brown) rice and this dish turned out to be wonderful.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mamaboj

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Windsor, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 18, 2014
I was hoping this would be really good with how affordable it is to make with cabinet staples. However, it really just did not have any flavor. I also had to stand over the stove watching it, making it time consuming. I like lentils, but guess I just prefer them in soup. My recommendation if making this dish is to cook the rice separately, so as to not over cook the lentils. I added a little garlic salt to season and it helped some.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Holiday Baker

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Detroit, Michigan, USA
Living In: Richmond, Virginia, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 4, 2014
Topping it off with cilantro adds the finishing touch.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Ann Marie Natal

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 30, 2014
Wow...I couldn't stop eating this with the crispy onions, which I fried in coconut oil. I added garam masala and vegetable bouillon with the lentils while they cooked. The only other change was that I cooked the rice separately so that I could spoon the lentils over it. The only complaint I have is that I ate too much and now I'm stuffed!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 28, 2014
This was surprisingly tasty! Would make a good vegetarian meal or as a side for "carnivores". I followed other reviews and cooked mine in stock. Definitely make extra onions they're the best part!! Its also worth mentioning that the sour cream or yogurt is necessary for full enjoyment :) Next time I might add some curry powder for extra flavor but good as is too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jessica

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Mar. 18, 2014
I made this last week for the first time and I loved it.I have actually never had lentils before .Will deffinetly make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 16, 2014
Very tasty with modifications. Based on other reviews, I added cumin, curry powder and a little cinnamon. The rice wasn't ready so I moved to a skillet and finished cooking. Recommend using more than one onion.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 522) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Sweet Summer Desserts
Sweet Summer Desserts

Summertime is all the sweeter with light desserts that satisfy without weighing you down.

Let's Make Zucchini Bread
Let's Make Zucchini Bread

Buried in zucchini? It's time to make zucchini bread! Choose from over 100 recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Chinese Chicken Fried Rice II

A fantastic use for leftover rice, this is one restaurant quality dish!

How to Make Fried Rice

See how to turn leftovers into a fast and delicious meal.

Fried Rice Restaurant Style

This easy fried rice goes with just about any entrée.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States