Lentils and Rice with Fried Onions (Mujadarrah) Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Oct. 13, 2014
I make this all the time in my cooking classes and normally use two onions sliced very thinly, caramelized and then add cumin, cinnamon and of course basmati rice. Very delicious
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 13, 2014
So good, but a bit bland.I added chicken bullion, what a difference and worth the 5th star!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 30, 2014
I've made this several times, and it's always excellent. Taking other folks' advice, I cook the lentils in 2 cups chicken broth and add another 1.5 cups broth with the rice. Adding 1 tsp cumin, 1.5 tsp garam marsala and 1-2 pinches (no more than that!) of cinnamon with the salt & pepper is a must -- makes the house smell wonderful too!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 14, 2014
So simple and delicious! It's almost hearty enough to eat as a main dish! The caramelized onion and plain yogurt make the dish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 4, 2014
I still haven't got the consistency right, but, it is a pretty solid dish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 12, 2014
I added cumin, parsley, ginger, garlic, cayenne pepper, and a bit of cinnamon and tumeric to the mix of onions/brown rice and lentils. (all the good anti-cancer spices!) It was delicious...my husband liked his with yogurt and we ate ours with the sour cream in a burrito wrap. Yummy and totally something for Lent!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 9, 2014
I thought it needed some kind of spice. It was pretty bland.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 22, 2014
We must be used to food with more flavor. This wasn't bad, but kind of boring.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 18, 2014
Was looking for something reasonably healthy for dinner tonight and I'm glad I found this! I did as others have suggested and added cinnamon to the onions about midway through the 35-40 minutes I cooked them. I also added cumin to the lentils and (brown) rice and this dish turned out to be wonderful.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mamaboj

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Windsor, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 18, 2014
I was hoping this would be really good with how affordable it is to make with cabinet staples. However, it really just did not have any flavor. I also had to stand over the stove watching it, making it time consuming. I like lentils, but guess I just prefer them in soup. My recommendation if making this dish is to cook the rice separately, so as to not over cook the lentils. I added a little garlic salt to season and it helped some.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Holiday Baker

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Detroit, Michigan, USA
Living In: Richmond, Virginia, USA

Displaying results 11-20 (of 517) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Chinese Chicken Fried Rice II

A fantastic use for leftover rice, this is one restaurant quality dish!

How to Make Fried Rice

See how to turn leftovers into a fast and delicious meal.

Fried Rice Restaurant Style

This easy fried rice goes with just about any entrée.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States