Lentils and Rice with Fried Onions (Mujadarrah) Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 10)
Reviewed: Feb. 9, 2012
This is such an interesting selection of flavors! It's one of those dishes where I had a hard time getting into it the first time, because it was so far from anything I was accustomed to, but then I found myself craving it a few weeks later. Easy, cheap, and delicious! Oh, and I make mine in a rice cooker. I cook the lentils as suggested for ~15 minutes, then dump them (water included) and the rice into my rice cooker. I then use the lentil pan for the onions, and can cut down on the dishes a little.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 6, 2012
Followed the tips given in the other reviews and like it pretty well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 31, 2012
We really liked this, but agree with some others that it was pretty plain. We added a little bit of lowries seasoning at the end, which really helped. Don't skimp on the onions...they are the best part!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by starqueen43

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Portland, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 29, 2012
My Mom made this on meatless Fridays. Great comfort food. Instead of yogurt lemon juice can be used and it tastes great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 19, 2012
I made this tonight and I am so glad I have some left for tomorrow. I did use brown rice and cooked the lentils and rice together. I added 1 beef bullion, 1 onion bullion and 1 garlic bullion cube into the rice/lentils while cooking. I also added cumin into the rice and cinnamon into the onions as they cooked. My new favorite meal. Thank you, thank you, thank you.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 11, 2012
Made with veg stock, 1/2 t cumin, added a dash of cinnimon to the onions. Used 2 small onions, but wanted more. The second time I made it with 4 small onions.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 21, 2011
normal nothing delicious delicious
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 13, 2011
So Yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 9, 2011
Very good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 9, 2011
So creamy and delicious. Let the onions cook the whole time- the browner the better it is overall.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 91-100 (of 525) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Back To School Already?
Back To School Already?

Hard to believe, but many kids will be back in school at the end of the month. Get ready.

Cauliflower Recipes
Cauliflower Recipes

You won't believe all the things you can do with cauliflower. It's a great low-carb option.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Chinese Chicken Fried Rice II

A fantastic use for leftover rice, this is one restaurant quality dish!

How to Make Fried Rice

See how to turn leftovers into a fast and delicious meal.

Fried Rice Restaurant Style

This easy fried rice goes with just about any entrée.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States