Lentils and Rice with Fried Onions (Mujadarrah) Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 10)
Reviewed: Dec. 9, 2011
Very good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 9, 2011
So creamy and delicious. Let the onions cook the whole time- the browner the better it is overall.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 2, 2011
LOVE IT. I use chicken broth instead of water and add Pensey's Balti powder instead of basic curry. Lowfat Greek yogurt (Fage) and extra onion. Cannot be beat for a warm, filling meal. I'm pregnant, and I actually eat this for breakfast. One full recipe lasts all week for one person (my husband doesn't like onion or lentils).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by NUNPUNCH

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Greensburg, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 26, 2011
I always cook mujaddarah and this is a good basic recipe for it. a few changes would make it even tastier. 1- use chicken or vegetable stock instead of water, it adds more flavor. 2- add a 1/4 teaspoon of ground cumin. eat it with plain yougurt and a fresh cucumber and tomato salad... yum yum :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 23, 2011
I love this...it's so simple and easy! Who would have thought that such simple ingredients would make such a fab dish. I served mine wiht Greek yogurt the first time, because that's all we had. I just can't tell you how nice it was. I did check out the star rating before deciding to cook this dish, and only read the reviews after so did no amendments. If I could give this ten stars I would. Delish!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by emarwood

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 16, 2011
Loved this!! What a tasty way to work lentils into your diet.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 12, 2011
This recipe needed a lot of help. Firstly I had to figure out how much water to use TWICE, as "an inch above the lentils" (or rice) changes depending on the size of the pot. The lentils needed longer cooking before adding the rice in order to be tender w/o making the rice mushy. It needed more seasoning than s & p. I used cumin at the beginning and added thyme toward the end of cooking. It would have been improved w/ a little garlic, too. It made more sense to prepare the onions while the lentils were cooking rather than waste time doing it beforehand, and I agree w/ the reviewers who suggested caramelizing the onions more slowly over lower heat--they cook more evenly that way--and using double the amount. I prefer eating this w/ a lemony harissa instead of yogurt. Because I misestimated the amount of water, I ended up w/ some stuck on lentils and rice at the bottom of the pot, but I did manage to season it up so it had enough flavor. Will look for a different recipe for this dish next time I want it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Long Island, New York, USA
Living In: Westchester, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 31, 2011
This was awesome. I used the suggestion of the chicken bouillion cube and cumin. Great, fast, and easy. You can also add cooked pasta and a garlicy vinegar tomato sauce for the Egyptian dish koshary.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 28, 2011
Easy and tasty--a great start. 4 stars because although it needs improvement, it's easy, forgiving, and edible as written. Followed other suggestions to add boullion and cumin. Adding just enough water to cover meant that I got some sticking on the bottom, so I kept adding stock to cover by a couple inches to minimize sticking/burning. Enjoyed it for dinner last night and lunch today with hot sauce. Travels well--just keep the yogurt on the side until it's reheated--so it's great for making in quantity and taking for lunch. Great vegetarian dish as written, or vegan without the yogurt.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 19, 2011
Yum. I love this stuff. I make it with plain Greek yoghurt. I'd add more onions, but i'm an onion freak so that's a personal preference thing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Julie

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Frankenmuth, Michigan, USA
Living In: Ann Arbor, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 91-100 (of 517) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Chinese Chicken Fried Rice II

A fantastic use for leftover rice, this is one restaurant quality dish!

How to Make Fried Rice

See how to turn leftovers into a fast and delicious meal.

Fried Rice Restaurant Style

This easy fried rice goes with just about any entrée.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States