Lentils and Rice with Fried Onions (Mujadarrah) Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Aug. 14, 2014
So simple and delicious! It's almost hearty enough to eat as a main dish! The caramelized onion and plain yogurt make the dish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 4, 2014
I still haven't got the consistency right, but, it is a pretty solid dish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 12, 2014
I added cumin, parsley, ginger, garlic, cayenne pepper, and a bit of cinnamon and tumeric to the mix of onions/brown rice and lentils. (all the good anti-cancer spices!) It was delicious...my husband liked his with yogurt and we ate ours with the sour cream in a burrito wrap. Yummy and totally something for Lent!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 9, 2014
I thought it needed some kind of spice. It was pretty bland.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 22, 2014
We must be used to food with more flavor. This wasn't bad, but kind of boring.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 18, 2014
Was looking for something reasonably healthy for dinner tonight and I'm glad I found this! I did as others have suggested and added cinnamon to the onions about midway through the 35-40 minutes I cooked them. I also added cumin to the lentils and (brown) rice and this dish turned out to be wonderful.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mamaboj

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Windsor, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 18, 2014
I was hoping this would be really good with how affordable it is to make with cabinet staples. However, it really just did not have any flavor. I also had to stand over the stove watching it, making it time consuming. I like lentils, but guess I just prefer them in soup. My recommendation if making this dish is to cook the rice separately, so as to not over cook the lentils. I added a little garlic salt to season and it helped some.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Blender Woman

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Detroit, Michigan, USA
Living In: Richmond, Virginia, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 4, 2014
Topping it off with cilantro adds the finishing touch.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Ann Marie Natal

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 30, 2014
Wow...I couldn't stop eating this with the crispy onions, which I fried in coconut oil. I added garam masala and vegetable bouillon with the lentils while they cooked. The only other change was that I cooked the rice separately so that I could spoon the lentils over it. The only complaint I have is that I ate too much and now I'm stuffed!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 28, 2014
This was surprisingly tasty! Would make a good vegetarian meal or as a side for "carnivores". I followed other reviews and cooked mine in stock. Definitely make extra onions they're the best part!! Next time I might add some curry powder for extra flavor but good as is too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jessica

Cooking Level: Intermediate


Displaying results 1-10 (of 503) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Want to Grill Tonight?
Want to Grill Tonight?

Check out time-saving recipes, because any night’s a good night to grill.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Fried Rice

See how to turn leftovers into a fast and delicious meal.

Fried Rice Restaurant Style

This easy fried rice goes with just about any entrée.

Chinese Chicken Fried Rice II

A fantastic use for leftover rice, this is one restaurant quality dish!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States