Lentils and Rice with Fried Onions (Mujadarrah) Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Dec. 22, 2014
The extraordinary flavor that comes out of these humble ingredients is amazing! And I think the whole meal is probably less than $1 to make. Alterations - The onions need longer than the 10 minutes to caramelize. I used two onions and started them and let them keep cooking on medium low the whole time the lentils and rice were cooking to get really rich brown. I also added a pinch of cinnamon to the onions and a pinch of cumin to the lentils and rice according to some of the reviews. I replaced half the water with bone broth for flavor and nutrients. This was the perfect simple meal to eat the week of Christmas, before all the rich sweets start coming! Thank you for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 10, 2014
I loved this recipe! It was more than I expected from it. I took the advice of one reviewer and added a chicken bouillon cube and a few dashes of cumin. I think what made it for me, though, was the sour cream and onions in it. Frankly, you need more than 1 large onion for all the oil it calls for. So, I recommend cutting out a tblsp or two of oil, or use more onion (I'm opting for the latter). Other than that, it's a great, easy recipe I'll use over and over again in the future.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 4, 2014
Very tasty. Made this for a week of work lunches since I already had all the ingredients. Very cheap and easy to make meal - but it doesn't looks so appetizing after a few days...just a warning. If you are planning on using it for leftovers, make sure to chop the onions a bit because they get very stringy after sitting in the fridge for a night.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Joseph Dowdy

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Austin, Texas, USA
Living In: Saint Paul, Minnesota, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 2, 2014
Loved the recipe and the not measuring part!! I added cumin, broth , saffron threads and turmeric for flavor during the cooking process of the rice and lentils-- delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JAN

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Nashua, New Hampshire, USA
Living In: Mobile, Alabama, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 26, 2014
Delish Will make again
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 22, 2014
Love this recipe! Haven't been into lentils until now, but this is just over the top. Used the reviewers' advice re: cumin and cinnamon with great results. Also used four onions... this dish just doesn't deserve less. Anyone, however, who can caramelize (not brown) onions in ten minutes is far out of my league. Figure on 30 minutes, or more, to do it well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 16, 2014
Different types of rice and lentils take different amounts of water and cooking time. You have to make adjustments according to what you're using, as well as spicing it up to taste. This is how I make this with brown rice and green lentils: Heat 1/3 cup olive oil in soup pot (appr.5 quart) add 1 teasp cumin seeds, 4 pods cardomon seeds, cracked black pepper, teasp tumeric and 3 or 4 sliced onions-1/4 thick. Cook on medium heat uncovered, stirring a couple times for about 15-20 minutes. I stir in 3/4 brown rice, and minced garlic, and toast for about a minute and then add about 4 1/2 cups boiling water and 1 cup lentils and simmer covered on low for about 40 minutes, checking after 30 minutes. Add salt after cooking. I love this recipe enough to make this simple. If you change rice or lentil types the water and time will need to be adjusted. I still check after 30 minutes to be sure there is just enough water and keep covered after turning off the heat. I add frozen peas when almost done.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 15, 2014
Really tasty, healthy dish. I added a spoon-fil of "Better Than Bullion" while the lentils cooked. I grated fresh ginger on top of the rice, lentil mix before serving, topped it with sour cream, yum.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 14, 2014
delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 13, 2014
Have not tried this recipe yet but it is the same recipe my husband has been making off and on for 10 years with the addition of cumin and sesame oil. We love it and we are not Arabic!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by theseamstress

Cooking Level: Expert


Displaying results 1-10 (of 517) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Chinese Chicken Fried Rice II

A fantastic use for leftover rice, this is one restaurant quality dish!

How to Make Fried Rice

See how to turn leftovers into a fast and delicious meal.

Fried Rice Restaurant Style

This easy fried rice goes with just about any entrée.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States