Lentil Tomato Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Aug. 15, 2011
Super good! We served it in our fanciest dishes with sourdough bread. It was so nice. I traded rosemary, thyme, and paprika for the nutmeg/cloves. It made it more savory rather than holiday tasting.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Maggie

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Keizer, Oregon, USA
Living In: Salem, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 14, 2010
Excellent recipe! The only thing I changed was to use extra virgin olive oil instead of butter, and to add some balsamic vinegar. At one point I did get nervous that there was too much going on in the pot for it to turn out good...but after simmering for awhile & adding some balsamic vinegar, it was delicious!!! Everyone asked for seconds. GREAT RECIPE!! Thanks.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mammamoey

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Rockaway Beach, New York, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2000
turned out great. the cloves give it a really nice favor. I added a little extra wine and it freezes very well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 27, 2005
Wow, I was really surprised by this soup. The flavor is mellow and satisfying. I used canned petite diced tomatoes and skipped the food processor step and used only 1 cup of lentils, since I'm not a fan but have been trying to use legumes more. Don't be afraid to try it!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: Flemington, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Pyong-Taek City, Kyonggi-Do, South Korea

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 3, 2005
I encourage everyone to try this wondeful lentil recipe. It was satisfying and delicious. Lentils are underappreciated!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 23, 2007
Quick, easy and different. I didn't have ground nutmeg so I substituted with cardamom and a pinch of cinnamon. For the wine I used a syrah. Very good, thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 4, 2007
excellent
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Reardan, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 18, 2007
I don't care much for red wine so after doing a little research I chose a Pinot Noir. It's delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 3, 2007
Delicious!!! I felt it needed a little more flavor, so I added freshly ground pepper and salt. YUMM
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 15, 2009
I have been making this soup for years and absolutely LOVE it. I forget the name of the cookbook it comes from, but it's definitely a family favorite. I make just a few changes. I use olive oil instead of butter and only 2 T or so. I don't think it affects the taste at all and is less saturated fat. I also saute carrots and celery along with the onion. I use a little more water/broth - or add to it as needed as it cooks. I usually use canned garden tomatoes if I have them. I dump them in and then use the hand blender to lightly puree them in the pan. Saves a step. Also, I have never added the nutmeg - I don't think the original recipe from my cookbook called for that. I'm such a huge fan of the flavors of the garlic, wine, and cloves, that I think I will forgo trying the nutmeg. This is one of the tastiest lentil soups I've ever had. Play around with the proportions to get it how you like it. Delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
21 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Angie

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 20) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Dinner in the Fast Lane
Dinner in the Fast Lane

Get quick & easy recipes for your busiest days.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Garden Fresh Tomato Soup

See how to make quick tomato soup from scratch.

Jersey Fresh Tomato Soup

See how to make a fresh tomato soup that’s creamy without being high fat.

Gretchen's Tomato Orange Soup

See how to make this comfort food favorite with a bright, delicious twist.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States