Lentil Tomato Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2000
turned out great. the cloves give it a really nice favor. I added a little extra wine and it freezes very well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 27, 2005
Wow, I was really surprised by this soup. The flavor is mellow and satisfying. I used canned petite diced tomatoes and skipped the food processor step and used only 1 cup of lentils, since I'm not a fan but have been trying to use legumes more. Don't be afraid to try it!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: Flemington, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Pyong-Taek City, Kyonggi-Do, South Korea

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 3, 2005
I encourage everyone to try this wondeful lentil recipe. It was satisfying and delicious. Lentils are underappreciated!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 11, 2006
My search for a low-cal lentil recipe led me to this one. I must say, I was a little disappointed at first...nutmeg, cloves, red wine..? But, after it sat a while, I was scarfing it down. Very mediterranean, not just 'a flair'. Will make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 23, 2007
Quick, easy and different. I didn't have ground nutmeg so I substituted with cardamom and a pinch of cinnamon. For the wine I used a syrah. Very good, thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 29, 2007
I used yellow lentils instead of brown - could that be why they didn't cook properly in the time alloted? I also wasn't sure if I was supposed to cook this covered or uncovered, so I did some of both. The flavor was good, but the partly-cooked lentils detracted!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 4, 2007
excellent
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Reardan, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 18, 2007
I don't care much for red wine so after doing a little research I chose a Pinot Noir. It's delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 3, 2007
Delicious!!! I felt it needed a little more flavor, so I added freshly ground pepper and salt. YUMM
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 11, 2008
I made this soup tonight-maybe after it mellows overnight I'll "up" the rating. I used a 28oz can of pureed tomatroes, so skipped the blender step. Maybe there would have been more liquid if I used the tomatoes. As it was, it was 'way too thick. I added at least 2 cups of water and probably another 1/2 to 3/4 cup wine. I only had whole cloves, so put some in an empty tea bag and let that cook before fishing it out. Also added more nutmeg and garlic and a few shakes of allspice for good measure. The taste is fine, it is just the fact that it had to be thinned out so much that caused the lower rating.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 20) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Gotta Feed the Football Fans
Gotta Feed the Football Fans

Get cheer-worthy chili, ribs, dips, snacks, and treats.

New! Free Menus
New! Free Menus

Now you can try Menu Planner free. Start your 30-day trial today.

Related Videos

Garden Fresh Tomato Soup

See how to make quick tomato soup from scratch.

Jersey Fresh Tomato Soup

See how to make a fresh tomato soup that’s creamy without being high fat.

Gretchen's Tomato Orange Soup

See how to make this comfort food favorite with a bright, delicious twist.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States