Lentil Stuffed Tomatoes Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Mar. 8, 2012
I added 2 shikaki mushrooms chopped and a little yellow bell pepper chopped to the sauteed onion.I also added feta, Parmesan and shredded cheese when I blended the mixture before placing into the tomato,I also left the top off and cooked it open face. It all turned out very delicious.Thanks for the idea!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 30, 2011
These were okay. Good, but not great. I don't know that they are worth the trouble.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 13, 2011
I topped this with feta and it made a very refreshing, 'bright' tasting summer entrée. I will definitely make this again, though next time I'll add a small amount of lamb and maybe some pine nuts.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Snellville, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 24, 2011
My husband and I both enjoyed this dish although we both felt it was a little bland as written. I cooked the dried lentils in vegetable broth, used brown rice, and added more minced garlic and some balsamic vinegar to the tomato mixture that went in the bottom of the baking dish. I served this over raw baby spinach so the sauce and heat from the tomato wilted the spinach quite nicely. Next time, I'd probably add some spice to kick it up a bit (garam marsala, probably, or chili powder). Thanks for a healthy, tasty dish, Sue.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KOALAGIRL

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 15, 2011
used brown rice and added extra garlic to the "sauce" rice and lentils need to cook much longer with more water
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 7, 2011
I was not so pleased with this recipe. I go to this website for good, accurate recipes...and this was neither of the two. The instructions were way off (the lentils and rice should be cooked separately, as they require different cooking times). Also, the recipe is pretty bland...no suggestions on spices? Wasn't impressed overall.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 7, 2011
LOVE it! boyfriend liked it too. I cooked the lentils and rice in veggie broth, added garlic in with the onions, cumin, garlic salt instead of salt, red pepper flakes and feta cheese. awesome. I also cooked the lentils and rice for 15 minutes instead of 10 as others suggested - but some of the rice burned to the bottom of my pot. next time I'll use 1 and 1/4 cups veggie broth to avoid this.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Pickles n' Milk

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Newbury Park, California, USA
Living In: Atlanta, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Leah
Reviewed: Jul. 12, 2010
This was delicious. I substituted barley instead of rice, used vegetable broth instead of water, and topped with feta. Heavenly.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Leah

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 19, 2010
Great flavor!!! I used green lentils instead of red. Used olive oil instead of veg. oil. The lentils, however were crunchy....definately need cooked thoroughly before stuffing the tomatoes. I will try making these again with adjustments. maybe baking them longer at a lower temp.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 26, 2010
This was really delicious! It's great served with warm pita wedges. I did have to cook the lentils a bit longer, and I left the caps off the tomatoes and poured the reserved tomato mixture over the top and around the stuffed tomatoes. SO GOOD!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 44) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Vegetarian Stuffed Peppers

See how to make a hearty vegetarian main course.

Stuffed Peppers My Way

These roasted green bell peppers are stuffed with a savory feta and rice mixture.

Pasta with Scallops, Zucchini, and Tomatoes

See how to make a simple pasta with scallops, zucchini, and tomatoes.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States