Lentil Stuffed Tomatoes Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Sep. 21, 2014
This recipe was only so-so for me. It wasn't anything to write home about. If you enjoy the tangy flavor of slightly raw tomatoes, then follow the instructions. If you prefer the tomatoes to be fully cooked, maybe leave them in the oven for about 20 minutes or so. There is a possibility that I may try this recipe again just to see if I can make any improvements, but I probably won't save it to my recipe box. Good luck!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 8, 2012
I added 2 shikaki mushrooms chopped and a little yellow bell pepper chopped to the sauteed onion.I also added feta, Parmesan and shredded cheese when I blended the mixture before placing into the tomato,I also left the top off and cooked it open face. It all turned out very delicious.Thanks for the idea!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 30, 2011
These were okay. Good, but not great. I don't know that they are worth the trouble.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: South Pasadena, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 13, 2011
I topped this with feta and it made a very refreshing, 'bright' tasting summer entrée. I will definitely make this again, though next time I'll add a small amount of lamb and maybe some pine nuts.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Snellville, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 24, 2011
My husband and I both enjoyed this dish although we both felt it was a little bland as written. I cooked the dried lentils in vegetable broth, used brown rice, and added more minced garlic and some balsamic vinegar to the tomato mixture that went in the bottom of the baking dish. I served this over raw baby spinach so the sauce and heat from the tomato wilted the spinach quite nicely. Next time, I'd probably add some spice to kick it up a bit (garam marsala, probably, or chili powder). Thanks for a healthy, tasty dish, Sue.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KOALAGIRL

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Malvern, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 15, 2011
used brown rice and added extra garlic to the "sauce" rice and lentils need to cook much longer with more water
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 7, 2011
I was not so pleased with this recipe. I go to this website for good, accurate recipes...and this was neither of the two. The instructions were way off (the lentils and rice should be cooked separately, as they require different cooking times). Also, the recipe is pretty bland...no suggestions on spices? Wasn't impressed overall.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 7, 2011
LOVE it! boyfriend liked it too. I cooked the lentils and rice in veggie broth, added garlic in with the onions, cumin, garlic salt instead of salt, red pepper flakes and feta cheese. awesome. I also cooked the lentils and rice for 15 minutes instead of 10 as others suggested - but some of the rice burned to the bottom of my pot. next time I'll use 1 and 1/4 cups veggie broth to avoid this.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Pickles n' Milk

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Newbury Park, California, USA
Living In: Atlanta, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Leah
Reviewed: Jul. 12, 2010
This was delicious. I substituted barley instead of rice, used vegetable broth instead of water, and topped with feta. Heavenly.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Leah

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 19, 2010
Great flavor!!! I used green lentils instead of red. Used olive oil instead of veg. oil. The lentils, however were crunchy....definately need cooked thoroughly before stuffing the tomatoes. I will try making these again with adjustments. maybe baking them longer at a lower temp.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 45) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Crispy Cucumbers and Tomatoes in Dill Dressing

Watch how to make this simple, tasty salad.

Meatless Stuffed Peppers

Peppers are filled with rice, veggies, and feta cheese.

Marie's Lentil Soup

See how to make a hearty, healthy, and flavorful vegetarian soup.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States