Lentil Stew Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jan. 5, 2014
I used veggie Kielbasa (since we are a family of vegetarians) and added some oregano, and it was tasty! It was also very easy. I didn't have to cook it for hours, probably because I didn't add the salt until close to the end of cooking time (salt can toughen beans and lentils). I also want to try it without the veggie sausage for a good, comfort-food kind of stew.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 19, 2012
I've cooked lentils (plain) in the past and my Redneck hubby was less than thrilled so I was taking a chance trying this recipe. HE gave it 5 stars! No need to say more.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by smiley4jc

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Hemphill, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2011
Needs way more cooking time. Taste just ok.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 22, 2011
Great basic recipe, I just spiked it up a bit with extra garlic,1/2 red pepper, and 1/2 teaspoon of Dijon mustard. Great dish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Krakow, Lesser Poland, Poland
Living In: Carol Stream, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 18, 2011
I cooked mine for at least three hours or more and i added a couple of spoonfuls of chicken bouillon which made it way yummy
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by kiki

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Los Angeles, California, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 29, 2011
Maybe if you soak the lentils in water for a while before adding to the pot, they will cook up quicker. I can't wait to try this recipe
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 15, 2011
This was the first time I had ever had or made lentil stew. My husband was wanting more beans and lentils in his diet to help his BP. It was pretty good. I think maybe lentils are something for my family to get used to. This was an easy recipe, and one I will probably make again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 4, 2011
This is one of those meals that makes you feel good inside when you eat. The nutrition in it does your body good! Wonderful.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 23, 2011
This was great cooked in the crockpot.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 15, 2011
delicious and amazingly easy! Definitely a keeper :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Dale&Laura

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Toronto, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 38) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Tomato-Curry Lentil Stew

See how to make a classic curried lehttp://allntil stew with tomatoes and garlic.

Puerto Rican Codfish Stew

What's cooking in Allentown? Milly's authentic stew.

Greek Lentil Soup

See how to make a simple, traditional Greek lentil soup.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States