Lentil Stew Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by SOUTHERNCOOK2
Reviewed: Dec. 28, 2004
This was great! Hearty and easy - everything goes in one pot. Even better the next day.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SOUTHERNCOOK2

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Jacksonville, Florida, USA
Living In: Durham, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 14, 2007
This stew turned out wonderfully! I used Turkey Kielbasa to make it a little lighter and the sausage flavour was infused throughout. Will definitely make again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Professional

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 20, 2007
I loved this soup. I wasn't quite sure how to use lentils but I thought this was a great start. Thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by AMYYY

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 20, 2007
Good, satisfying and healthy soup.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Amy

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 6, 2007
I halved recipe. It would be better with 1/2 the amount of lentils. Tomato soup or sauce, and italian seasoning.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Elk River, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 18, 2008
This recipe makes a large pot of thick stew. If you don't like lentils don't try it. Keeps well. The sausage really adds a ton of flavor. I did omit the onion (picky eaters). I'll be making this soup again sometime this winter:) Thanks for posting.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Mobile, Alabama, USA
Living In: Alabaster, Alabama, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 11, 2008
The flavor was really good (better leftover) but the cooking time is off. I think this should be cooked for 3-4 hours because the lentils were really not done after 20minutes. Plus then the flavors could really mix in
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
52 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 2, 2008
tastes really good
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Harbor Springs, Michigan, USA
Living In: Kalamazoo, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 1, 2008
Quick, easy, meat-stretching grub.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Rocky Hill Gal

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: San Rafael, California, USA
Living In: Davis, California, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 25, 2008
Really good recipe and defintely better the next day. The only change I made was to add an additional can of tomato sauce & some Italian seasoning, just to give it a bit more flavor. My son is a picky eater and he loved it. My husband wasnt fond of the lentils (there are quite a lot) so when I make it again, I would probably do half as many lentils & maybe add some carrots. Thanks for the delicious recipe :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 39) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Tomato-Curry Lentil Stew

See how to make a classic curried lentil stew with tomatoes and garlic.

Puerto Rican Codfish Stew

What's cooking in Allentown? Milly's authentic stew.

Greek Lentil Soup

See how to make a simple, traditional Greek lentil soup.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States