Lentil Stew Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Nov. 4, 2009
harty... could be spicier, but used the wrong kind of sausage
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 12, 2009
Delicious! Like other reviewers, I think it needs a lot more time. I added some chopped carrots. I also cooked the onions and carrots in a little olive oil before adding the other ingredients. It's almost like Grandma used to make! :o)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 9, 2009
This was great ! I left out the potatoes because there was enough carbs, and instead of polish sausage, I used italian sausage (oven cooked). Fantastic !
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Queens, New York, USA
Living In: Brownsburg, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 4, 2009
I thought this was a good, hearty meal. Our guests said it reminded them of a stay in Chile, where lentils were often used. I followed the recipe, but instead of covering with only water, I added a can of reduced sodium beef broth and 1/2 cup of dry red wine, then enough water to cover. This made the soup very flavorful. I also added quite a bit of salt and pepper, which I think improved the flavor. In addition, I added about 1/2 cup of carrots, since I had them in the house. I use turkey keilbasa for a healthier meal, the flavor was good, but the texture was a little rubbery. Next time I will use Polish sausage. Yes, the cooking time should be increased, but doesn't need to be several hours. I thought the soup was perfect with about 50 minutes of simmering.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 3, 2009
My fiancee is from Spain and though this recipe is quite different then his mom's it still deserves 5 stars. So delicious! I prepare it almost exactly as stated in the recipe except I double the onions out of personal preference. As other reviewers have noted, the recipe requires about an hour of simmering in order to get the lentils soft throughout. It's become a regular in our household and though it requires a bit of time to cook, it requires very little prep time or babysitting.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 22, 2009
This was really tasty, I made some of the changes suggested by the other reviewers, I added the lentils at the beginning so they cooked a little longer and used some turkey sausage instead. I also used tyme, entirely by accident because I wasn't paying attention but turned out great! And there is tons, I think I'll be eating this all week. http://single-girl-gourmet.blogspot.com
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 28, 2009
Fast and tasty. The only changes I made were to add an eight ounce can of plain tomato sauce and substituting chicken broth for the water.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Jonestown, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 4, 2008
I spent a semester studying in Seville, Spain, and the woman I lived with made sopa de lentejas almost every week. I wanted to try my hand at a lentil soup, and this recipe brought back tops of memories from my days in Spain! A previous reviewer was correct in saying the soup needed a few more hours, so that the lentils would get tender and the flavors would mixed. I transfered the soup to a crock pot, let it stew for a few hours, and it turned out great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
42 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Exeter, Rhode Island, USA
Living In: Birmingham, Alabama, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 2, 2008
Great Hearty recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes
Home Town: Grand Rapids, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Greenville, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 25, 2008
Really good recipe and defintely better the next day. The only change I made was to add an additional can of tomato sauce & some Italian seasoning, just to give it a bit more flavor. My son is a picky eater and he loved it. My husband wasnt fond of the lentils (there are quite a lot) so when I make it again, I would probably do half as many lentils & maybe add some carrots. Thanks for the delicious recipe :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 39) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Tomato-Curry Lentil Stew

See how to make a classic curried lentil stew with tomatoes and garlic.

Puerto Rican Codfish Stew

What's cooking in Allentown? Milly's authentic stew.

Greek Lentil Soup

See how to make a simple, traditional Greek lentil soup.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States