Lentil Stew Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Mar. 15, 2011
delicious and amazingly easy! Definitely a keeper :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Dale&Laura

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Toronto, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 14, 2011
Loved this soup! So simple and quick. I didn't have any sausage in the house, but it was very good. We had Parmesan cheese on top.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by TaraD
Reviewed: Feb. 10, 2011
This was a great stew however I used turkey sausage instead of polish sausage. We also added mushrooms, a small green pepper and an organic seasoning. it is fantastic. great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by TaraD

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Calgary, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 1, 2011
I added a little Cinnamon and after bringing to a boil I simmered for a little over an hour! My toddler loved it so I will be making again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 19, 2011
This is amazing. I was looking forward to the even better taste of day 2, but there may not be leftovers. I tooknad ice of other reviewers and starts by simmering the lentils while cutting up the vegetables. But then had to run errands, so finished in the slow cooker for two hours on high. My variations: used turkey kielbasa, fresh cut tomatoes and added fresh parsley and cilantro since I had them on hand. Also added carrots. A nice taste from the get go.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 17, 2010
i made a black eyed peas version of this stew. i used fresh plum and cherry tomatoes instead of canned. i also added some cumin, chili powder, and paprika. and i did cook it for about 4 hours. it was perfect. DELICIOUS! 1/31/12 So I just re-visited this and this time I added celery, some coriander, cayenne pepper, a can of cream of chicken and a can of chicken broth, chopped carrots... I left out the sausage this time, but I bet apple chicken sausage would have been nice... As the soup was finishing up, I mashed around the lentils a little with a ladle and ended up getting a bit thicker consistency, which I loved. I still really liked it and actually, it was even more delicious the next day!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by emp07

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 2, 2010
Very good! My husband lived in Spain for four years and had bugged me for ages to get a pressure cooker and make lentils. I finally got the pressure cooker and used it for this recipe. My husband said that it didn't taste like what he had in Spain, though it was "kind of similar", but he still loved it. He keeps asking me when we are having this again. I threw everything in together and pressure cooked for 30 minutes. I will probably do a little less time next time -- maybe 20 minutes -- as it did turn out a little mushy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 28, 2010
Not at all like the lentil stew I had in Spain.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 1, 2010
Usually, I won't rate a recipe if I've changed it at all, but I made a few tweaks to this one, which was probably wonderful as listed. First, since some people thought the lentils were hard, I started them simmering in chicken bullion while I prepped the rest. I also chopped and added a small bunch of kale I had to use up and a sprinkle of cayenne pepper. We were thrilled and couldn't stop eating this. Fantastic!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Marquette, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 9, 2009
Great recipe. I went by the recommendations of the other reviewers and cooked the lentils for an hour. Also, since I cook for my kids who can be a little picky at times, I substituted the diced tomatoes with 2 cans of tomato soup. Very easy to make with ingredients I keep around the house.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Walloon Lake, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 39) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Tomato-Curry Lentil Stew

See how to make a classic curried lentil stew with tomatoes and garlic.

Puerto Rican Codfish Stew

What's cooking in Allentown? Milly's authentic stew.

Greek Lentil Soup

See how to make a simple, traditional Greek lentil soup.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States