Lentil Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Oct. 19, 2000
We had this soup for our souper Wednesday staff lunch and it was a big hit. We did't use the spinach or tomato, but it was still delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 15, 2001
Delicious soup. Very easy to make and delicious to eat. This recipe makes a big batch so be prepared with freezer bags if you have a small family.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
126 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Esmee Williams

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Groton, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 5, 2001
The spinach adds some much needed colour. Try topping with shredded swiss. An excellent recipe for leftovers.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 20, 2001
Yummy! Try this!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 29, 2001
OH YEAH!!!!! This is good stuff! I just made this and just the smell to start with was worth making this soup. I adjusted the serving size for 9 and only added 10 cups of water instead of the suggested 12. I like my soups a bit thick and not so watery. I added about a teaspoon of powdered onion in addition to the fresh, 1/2 teaspoon cumin, and some more basil and oregano. I like a lot of flavor and this worked! I also added three small red potato's, it lacked something and that was it. Great soup, absolute best lentil soup i've had yet!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 24, 2001
I also added 3 peeled red potatoes and the additional seasoning recommended by another reviewer and added 2 fresh chopped tomatoes instead of the canned and 1/3 cup barley. It was a big hit! My husband and the kids really liked it. This is going into my permanent recipe box for sure!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 27, 2001
Best tasting lentil soup I've had so far! I added some cayenne pepper to my bowl and it was great. Thanks Marie!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 14, 2001
Delicious!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 5, 2001
THis is lentil soup as it should be! Don't know why we have to cook it for at least one hour. The spinach is a healthy addition and adds good colour. I am trying to think of how to give it a bit of pazazz. Maybe a shot of chilli sauce? Great dish
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 29, 2001
I really enjoyed this soup, it was very flavorful and it's vegetarain! I used one large red and one large yellow onion; I also added 3 red potatos cubed, 1/4 tsp ground cumin, 1/4 tsp onion powder and skipped the spinach. I pureed it a little and it was awesome. Even my boyfriend had seconds and it's hard to get him to eat vegetables. Thanks Marie!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 1,303) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Marie's Lentil Soup

See how to make a hearty, healthy, and flavorful vegetarian soup.

Greek Lentil Soup

See how to make a simple, traditional Greek lentil soup.

Chef John's Black Lentil Soup

Black lentils, bacon, and aromatic veggies make a deeply delicious soup.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States