Lentil Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 9)
Reviewed: Aug. 26, 2014
I liked this soup. I followed the original recipe except I used frozen spinach (didn't have any fresh) and I put the tomatoes in the food processor before adding because my Hubby's not crazy about tomatoes chunks in soup. It was very good, but processing the tomatoes made it a more tomatoe base. I won't do that next time. I will definitely make this again! BTW,I used Trader Joe's canned plum tomatoes and did not add salt to the pot, making the sodium less than 200mg for the entire pot. We salted individual bowls to our liking.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Moose

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Randolph, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Santa Ana, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 17, 2014
So delicious! I doubled basil and oregano, and added broth instead of water. It didn't need much salt at all. Amazing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Arden, North Carolina, USA
Living In: Ambler, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 10, 2014
Excellent Recipe. Very tasty.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 3, 2014
Really good soup; only modification I made was I added a 2 teaspoons of curry powder. Will be making this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CJ Kern

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Elmwood Park, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Denville, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 30, 2014
Good, but not great - a bit bland. I love veges, so I doubled the carrots, celery, and tomatoes. I also doubled the garlic & substituted chicken broth for about half of the water. Next time I will use more chicken broth and try increasing the spices and vinegar.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 27, 2014
Excellent recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 23, 2014
This soup came out *really* well, though it did take a bit longer than the directions say (took a while for the lentils to soften).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Srztanjur
Reviewed: Jul. 18, 2014
This recipe gave me a lot to work with. I was not completely satisfied with the original product, but without it, I wouldn't have been able to achieve what I did on my second attempt, which was exactly what I was looking for. These are my notes: First, make your own crushed tomatoes. Buy five ripe on the vine tomatoes. Cut a large plus onto their bottoms. Blanche them in boiling water for thirty seconds. Shock them in ice water. Peel off their skin. Cut them in half. Remove their seeds into a small bowl by pushing them out with your finger. Remove green and white parts of tomato and discard. Strain the tomato juice out of the seeds back into the peeled and seeded tomatoes. Crush with hands. Whisk with fork. Cook with smiling cover for one hour and forty minutes, stirring every twenty minutes. Add an extra cup of water. Use five cloves of garlic instead of two cloves of garlic. Use one half teaspoon of oregano instead of one teaspoon. Use one-and-a-half teaspoons of basil instead of one teaspoon. Use half of a tablespoon of vinegar instead of two tablespoons of vinegar. Salt over top of pot in a zig-zag, twice with sea salt (preferably iodized) Pepper with a grinder to taste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 14, 2014
Great recipe. I did not add the vinegar, but I did add some cilantro and mushrooms. It came out delicious :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by House of Aqua
Reviewed: Jul. 6, 2014
I made this in the crockpot, it took about 6 hours and turned out great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by House of Aqua

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Dubuque, Iowa, USA
Living In: San Diego, California, USA

Displaying results 81-90 (of 1,378) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

French Toast
French Toast

French toast is such a perfect breakfast, light lunch, or even supper on these warm days.

Crisp Cucumber Salads
Crisp Cucumber Salads

Try one of our 100-plus cool cucumber salads.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Marie's Lentil Soup

See how to make a hearty, healthy, and flavorful vegetarian soup.

Greek Lentil Soup

See how to make a simple, traditional Greek lentil soup.

Chef John's Black Lentil Soup

Black lentils, bacon, and aromatic veggies make a deeply delicious soup.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States