Lentil Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 8)
Reviewed: Mar. 31, 2014
The star rating of 3 is based on the recipe as-is. I followed it quite closely, just using a larger can of crushed tomatoes than it calls for and a touch less water. As-is, I felt it was bland. I added curry and cumin to taste, and a teaspoon of beef bouillon. Also I used an immersion blender for just a few seconds to create a thicker texture. I thought this relatively small change made the dish much more flavorful and a little spicy... like a good, hearty vegetarian chili. I have been taking it to work and adding a little water to each serving before heating it up as the lentils really soak up the liquid. A coworker had a helping and commented more than once it was delicious so I think I will keep the recipe with these modifications, which I felt bumped the rating up to an "I Loved It".
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 30, 2014
Terrific with changes that others suggested. Double the spices, use 4 cups broth, 4 cups water. I added a little sherry early on, balsamic vinegar and spinach towards the end. I used a large can of blended tomatoes instead of the 15 oz can. Also, I cut up some smoked turkey sausage early on, which added nice flavor. Will definitely make again! Delicious! And healthy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Robin Randall

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 23, 2014
my family absolutely love this recipe i chicken broth instead of mostly and added a little water at the end just for more broth in the soup and added some sausage and its a major hit in my house my wife and kids love it
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by JLomb
Reviewed: Mar. 20, 2014
Great recipe! I modified though; scaled down the 1/4 cup oil to 2-3 Tbl., used 2 cups of vegetable broth and 6 cups water, and substituted the spinach for a bunch of kale.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 16, 2014
This recipe was very delicious. The soup required a bit more seasoning than the recipe calls for, but otherwise it was good. I added a bit of garlic powder, and onion powder as well as a bit more salt and pepper both. The recipe makes more servings than it says too, but we didn't mind the leftovers at all. Add a bit of extra water and re-heat, it's easy and tasty!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 11, 2014
this was great soup! I followed the other reviewers and added more carrots and spices, & I should have added more tomatoes but overall it's very good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 10, 2014
This is absolutely yummy, filling and nutritious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 9, 2014
I found this recipe because my nutrition report on the My Fitness Pal app showed that I was deficient in a variety of categories. I did a search on the Internet and learned that lentils would bolster my deficiencies. So, I found this recipe and I think it's great for its taste and nutrition.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 9, 2014
This was a big hit. I added some sausage and substituted chicken broth for half of the water. I added more water as it simmered as well--about three cups over the course of an hour.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Belle
Reviewed: Mar. 6, 2014
Great recipe! Although I changed a couple of things around. I added a bit more of the spices than listed. Replaced plain vinegar with balsamic vinegar, added in squash, half vegetable stock half water, didn't add the bay leaf . Served with a side of white rice and added mozzarella and Parmesan cheese to my bowl. Wish I would've added another small can of tomato chunks though, or tomato sauce but the recipe was still great !
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 71-80 (of 1,332) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Marie's Lentil Soup

See how to make a hearty, healthy, and flavorful vegetarian soup.

Greek Lentil Soup

See how to make a simple, traditional Greek lentil soup.

Chef John's Black Lentil Soup

Black lentils, bacon, and aromatic veggies make a deeply delicious soup.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States