Lentil Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 8)
Reviewed: Jan. 17, 2014
Made changes due to what I had on hand...used shallots instead of onion, used homemade turkey stock rather than water, and used a blend of kale, chard, and spinach finely chopped so my picky daughter would eat it. It was the best lentil soup I've ever made. Try it. You'll love it. Thanks for the recipe, Marie!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 16, 2014
This was a delicious soup! I did use many of the suggestions mentioned (doubled the garlic, basil, oregano) and used a good white balsamic vinegar at the end. I didn't have any celery, so substituted red/yellow bell peppers. I also used 2, 26 oz cartons of chicken stock...no water. I added another 8 oz. of stock at the end to thin it down. I added a can of drained corn (it would be better with fire roasted corn),some shredded chicken breast and a few shakes of cumin and smoked paprika too. Great, hearty dinner!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 16, 2014
i think another pic needs to be added because there appears to be tiny meatballs in the pic .. (unless im missing something) i see no meat in the recipe
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 10, 2014
Delicious!! We made a few changes: use white balsamic vinegar instead of regular vinegar; use 4 carrots instead of 2; use 4 cups veggie broth and 4 cups water. I especially think the white balsamic gave the soup a really nice flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 8, 2014
Yummy. Gave only 4 stars because I followed reviewer Blankin's suggestions using 28 oz can of crushed tomatoes, double carrots, double spices, pinch of crushed red pepper, 1 can of chicken broth (water to make up rest of liquid needed in recipe), lemon juice and port. Those changes make it a 5 star. Added shredded parmesan cheese on top of each bowl.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by JerMej1s
Reviewed: Jan. 7, 2014
Excellent dish. I doubled the tomatoes, added more carrots and celery, and used vegetable broth instead of water. I also added some crushed red pepper flakes to give a bit of a kick. Served with cornbread and grated Parmesan on top. Delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 7, 2014
My 3 1/2 year old and I loved this! I did not add celery or spinach. I made homemade croutons and we added them to the top. This is light enough where you don't feel like you need a shovel to eat it, and it doesn't leave you feeling weighed down. I had "dilly bean" juice from my fermented green beans; I added 2 splashes of it at the end of the cook time instead of the vinegar. I also cut the recipe in half, and between 2 adults, and a child, it will take us a couple of days to eat it up. I will make this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 7, 2014
Amazing recipe. Also added some hot chicken sausage (removed the casing first and sauteed the ground meat before adding it to the soup). The soup was delicious. One of the best soups I've had in recent memory.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 6, 2014
Very good. I had some leftover cooked homegrown tomatos with chorizo (that I'd had over pasta), and used them instead of canned tomatoes. This is a hearty, heavy soup, and perfect for a cold rainy day!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 6, 2014
Yummy and filling. Added a bit of spice and my husband and I both loved it. Will definitely make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 71-80 (of 1,268) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Marie's Lentil Soup

See how to make a hearty, healthy, and flavorful vegetarian soup.

Greek Lentil Soup

See how to make a simple, traditional Greek lentil soup.

Chef John's Black Lentil Soup

Black lentils, bacon, and aromatic veggies make a deeply delicious soup.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States