Lentil Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 7)
Reviewed: Apr. 28, 2014
Added barley in place of lentils, because I was thinking barley when I read lentils. Go figure. : / Used some chicken broth I had in the freezer, along with 2 cans of beef broth. Added chicken bouillion, and just a little red pepper flakes, fennel, saffron, and sage. If you're out of lentils, give barley a try. It was mooey delicioso!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by C. Waite

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: El Monte, California, USA
Living In: Sandy, Utah, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 28, 2014
Good, easy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 28, 2014
nice
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 27, 2014
Needed to get rid of the lentils in my pantry and I definitely chose the right recipe for it. I told my husband I was making a vegetable soup and he turned up his nose. In his mind, and soup without meat is lame. He is on his second bowl now! It's a healthy and delicious recipe that's very filling. I added a can of green beans and diced tomatoes for some other texture. I didn't have any carrots on hand and you can't even tell they're missing. I also used chicken broth instead of water and added a can of tomato sauce. I think any adjustments to this soup would work well as long as it's not crazy. Definitely worth making.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 18, 2014
I used this recipe as a base for making a more flavorful soup. I recommend substituting vegetable or chicken broth for 1/2 of the water and at least doubling the herbs. I also put in an entire bag of baby spinach and made a few other adjustments.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 18, 2014
I had never tried lentils until I made this dish. And WOW they are awesome. I love this recipe , it is super easy to make and you'll enjoy eating it as well. Definitely consider making this dish. You won't regret it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 9, 2014
This is pretty tasty. I made it to direction and next time would like to try it with mild or Italian sausage added.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 7, 2014
I thought this was a great, simple recipe. When reading reviews some said they made it vegetarian style or did something to reduce sodium. There's no meat in this recipe and its says salt to taste! WTH
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Beramanetti

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 5, 2014
This was so good, I did add 2 beef boullion cubes and I used celery seed instead of celery ( didn't have any) Was delish!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 1, 2014
I also doubled the spices, used the whole can of crushed tomatoes and added spicy sausage slices and chicken broth in place of plain water. My whole family ate it all up. They all had seconds!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 61-70 (of 1,332) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Marie's Lentil Soup

See how to make a hearty, healthy, and flavorful vegetarian soup.

Greek Lentil Soup

See how to make a simple, traditional Greek lentil soup.

Chef John's Black Lentil Soup

Black lentils, bacon, and aromatic veggies make a deeply delicious soup.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States