Lentil Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Jun. 11, 2014
T thought this recipe was awesome. I had my own chicken broth made and used that instead of water. I had 10 cups of broth and wanted to use it up, so I added two extra carrots, 1 cup of spinach, doubled the spices and used balsamic vinegar. I used the same amount of lentils. It was delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 8, 2014
I doubled the garlic and spices since I like flavor and those who doubled didn't have any complaints. I added a couple of extra carrots and replaced 6 cups of water with chicken broth. BTW, 2 cups of lentils happens to be a 16 oz bag. I changed the plain vinegar to balsamic because I love it and couldn't resist adding the 3 tablespoons of port wine because I love it too! My salt and pepper to taste ended up being a tsp of salt and 1/2 tsp of pepper. I didn't add spinach because I was planning to have leftovers and didn't think it would hold up well. I used a hand held wand to puree about half of the soup to make it thicker. I think this soup is much better the next day, so I highly recommend making it the day before. It just barely fit in a 4 qt pot, so you might want to set your sights on something bigger!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by TaraB

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Plattsburgh, New York, USA
Living In: Tolland, Connecticut, USA
Reviewed: May 29, 2014
I used butter instead of olive oil, chicken broth instead of water, and kale instead of spinach. I also used fresh herbs instead of dried (triple the amount of herbs called for when using fresh instead of dried). It was delicious! If broth is not used, I would add at least a teaspoon of salt with the water. Otherwise it will be incredibly bland. I still needed additional salt to taste at the end using chicken broth. With my changes, I will make again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by halfnotes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 15, 2014
I absolutely love this soup!! I used organic vegetable broth instead of water and I chopped up 2 Roma tomatoes instead of adding canned tomatoes. I did add the cumin as I love cumin in soups. Totally tasty and good. Also since I didn't have spinach I used kale and a few left over leaves of escarole. It was very tasty especially when I topped it off with the balsamic vinegar and fresh parmesan cheese. Hearty and filling, definitely a keeper for me!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 14, 2014
VERY GOOD, JUST ADDED BROWNED BREAKFAST SAUSAGE AND IT IS A COMPLETE MEAL. ANYBODY THAT DOESN'T LIKE THIS NEEDS TO HAVE THEIR TASTEBUDS CHECKED
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 12, 2014
Just made it and it was absolutely tasteless. My pot wasn't big enough so I could only put in 2/3 the lentils and waters at the end and was expected too much flavor. Thankfully it was saved with 1/2 tbsp. each of cumin and curry powder. Would make again, but only with SIGNIFICANT modifications.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 2, 2014
This soup is missing something. Perhaps some beef or chicken broth would help?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 30, 2014
This was a very good recipe and my whole family loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 29, 2014
this is a new staple at our house. thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 28, 2014
Added barley in place of lentils, because I was thinking barley when I read lentils. Go figure. : / Used some chicken broth I had in the freezer, along with 2 cans of beef broth. Added chicken bouillion, and just a little red pepper flakes, fennel, saffron, and sage. If you're out of lentils, give barley a try. It was mooey delicioso!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by C. Waite

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: El Monte, California, USA
Living In: Sandy, Utah, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 1,321) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Leftover Central
Leftover Central

The hard work's over, now celebrate the leftovers.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Marie's Lentil Soup

See how to make a hearty, healthy, and flavorful vegetarian soup.

Greek Lentil Soup

See how to make a simple, traditional Greek lentil soup.

Chef John's Black Lentil Soup

Black lentils, bacon, and aromatic veggies make a deeply delicious soup.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States