Lentil Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Mar. 12, 2015
Just made this for dinner and really enjoyed it. I added 1tsp of Lemmon juice since I am allergic to vinegar and it worked well as a substitute!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 28, 2015
I made this recipe twice in the last two weeks and will continue to make it. It is the best soup I ever tasted. My husband loved it also. It is vegetarian and gluten free and healthy. I did not have a bay leaf, so I omitted it. I used balsamic vinegar. I also subbed frozen spinach for fresh. When I first made this recipe, I thought what is vinegar doing in soup, but it made all the flavors come together. Delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Debbie Miller

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by sonya
Reviewed: Feb. 26, 2015
I used red wine and more veggies and Just wow! It was perfect in flavor for this gluten free vegan. Dash of pepper and faux cheese on top- ??
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by sonya

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 23, 2015
Found this very bland.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Oureatinghabits

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Calgary, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 22, 2015
I love this recipe...I did change a few things for my tastes. I grated my carrots, used homemade chicken broth for half of the liquid, added chili powder and crushed red pepper to make it spicy. Instead of tomatoes I added one can of tomato sauce and one can of tomato paste. I eat it all week long for lunch with cottage cheese...keeps me energized throughout the afternoon to hit the gym!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 16, 2015
I really like this recipe, although like others who have tried and commented, I find this to be more of a baseline recipe that allows one to add their own flair and style to the dish to really make it extra flavorful. It is very versatile and I have tried multiple variations now such as Italian and spicy/curry. Only things I think the base recipe needs to change are Chicken (or veggie, etc.) broth instead of water, and the herbs should be added at the end of cooking (with exception of the bay leaves) so they don't lose their flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 16, 2015
This was very good. The only changes I made was to use diced tomatoes instead of crushed. I had only one cup of lentils so I threw in some elbows macaroni. Very filling meal.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Hawthorne, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Fair Lawn, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 10, 2015
I've made this lentil soup before and this time, it didn't come out as good as I hoped! The soup was very bland and my boyfriend had to add a lot of salt when I had already done so!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Amanda Rekha

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Dorchester, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: Worcester, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 25, 2015
Great recipe. I omitted salt and used 5 tsp. chicken bullion to give it more flavor. Also added extra pepper and used Apple cider vinegar. Instead of spinach I used "super greens" from Safeway which included baby spinach, kale, and chard. Delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 25, 2015
At first I wasn't sure if I liked this soup. I occasionally eat fish, but no other meat, and this has a very "meaty" taste! However, after a few bites I was hooked. This soup is really good as written, but excellent when following the suggestions of other reviewers. I usually halve the lentils and water and add the appropriate amount of "not so chick'n" bouillon cubes to keep it vegetarian. Despite halving the recipe I use the full amount of spices and crushed tomatoes and add 1/8th tsp of red pepper flakes. As for the amount of carrots and celery - just use what you want! I add a bit of cubed potato (7 to 8 oz) or celery root toward the last 20 minutes. With my extra vegetables I always need another cup of broth. Red wine vinegar works great. Would like to try balsamic, but why mess with perfection? As for the spinach, adding it to the bottom of the bowl works great and there's no slimy spinach leaves after a day or two of left overs. This is a staple in the fall and winter kitchen, very forgiving and easy to modify. This is one of the best recipes I've tried in a long time. Even meat eaters will like it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 1,379) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Back To School Already?
Back To School Already?

Hard to believe, but many kids will be back in school at the end of the month. Get ready.

Cauliflower Recipes
Cauliflower Recipes

You won't believe all the things you can do with cauliflower. It's a great low-carb option.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Marie's Lentil Soup

See how to make a hearty, healthy, and flavorful vegetarian soup.

Greek Lentil Soup

See how to make a simple, traditional Greek lentil soup.

Chef John's Black Lentil Soup

Black lentils, bacon, and aromatic veggies make a deeply delicious soup.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States