Lentil Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 14)
Reviewed: Jan. 29, 2014
This soup was awesome. I used 4 carrots and added chicken bullion for more flavor. Omitted the spinach just because I thought it tasted better without. This was a very good and easy soup to make and we enjoyed it, even though it was 100 degrees outside! Tasted even better the next day with some left over rice added in. Thanks, I'll be making this often.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 28, 2014
I left out the spinach after reading the other reviews, because I planned to have left-overs. It was absolutely perfect. It's a keeper. Thanks for sharing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 28, 2014
This is the first time i made lentil soup. I found according to the recipe it had no flavor. So I looked up the reviews and saw the changes that were made that made this soup awesome!! After I made the additional changes that others used it turned out to be awesome. Not the original recipe though. Thanks to others for there reviews. That really helped!!! My rating was for the original recipe. Not the final recipe...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 28, 2014
This is hearty and flavorful. It doesn't scream "lentil soup". (Not that there's anything wrong with that!). I used 11/2 Knorr concentrated beef stock in the little tubs in 8 cups of water, doubled the herbs and garlic, used 2 cups baby spinach and tossed in a smoked Parmesan rind for delicious depth. I used very little vinegar. I will make this again and again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Catgal

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Louisville, Kentucky, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 28, 2014
Really great! I only added half of the vinegar, omitted the black pepper and added 1/4c of heavy cream, 1 1/2c of spinach, and 3 tbsp fresh grated Parmesan. Nice and creamy! Just the right seasoning for my taste. For the health nuts who count calories, my variation came to 344 per serving. Not too bad as these are big servings. This will keep me full all day!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 27, 2014
Might as well add my glowing review to the pile! Like others, I have made some tweaks to suit our taste. We use green lentils and soak them for 10 minutes or so in boiling water before adding them to the veggies. I use all low-sodium broth, either chicken or veggie depending on what I have on hand. I skip the canned tomatoes and just use a tbsp of tomato paste, it's a texture thing for me. I use just enough oil to cook the veggies, not 1/4 cup. Finally, we use balsamic vinegar at the end and serve with parmesan bread. Thanks for a fantastic recipe that's very versatile!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 23, 2014
I make a lot of soups but this was the first that was so awful that most went in the garbage. Followed the recipe exactly.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 23, 2014
Very plain tasting. I followed the recipe exactly and thought it needed much more flavor. It was a good base recipe so feel free to experiment and add more spices of your own.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 23, 2014
This was quite good. I did add seasonings... extra garlic powder and red pepper flakes. I didn't have any spinach so I used fresh kale which I think gave the recipe more depth. Next time I will toss some other kind of beans in too. Enjoy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 22, 2014
The only change I made to the recipe was to double the amount of spices as suggested by other reviewers. This soup hits the spot!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 131-140 (of 1,357) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Muffins Are Perfect Anytime
Muffins Are Perfect Anytime

Muffins are great for breakfast, with coffee, or just as a snack on the go.

Soup For What Ails You
Soup For What Ails You

Soup is what the doctor ordered to cure those winter blahs.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Marie's Lentil Soup

See how to make a hearty, healthy, and flavorful vegetarian soup.

Greek Lentil Soup

See how to make a simple, traditional Greek lentil soup.

Chef John's Black Lentil Soup

Black lentils, bacon, and aromatic veggies make a deeply delicious soup.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States