Lentil Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 14)
Reviewed: Nov. 13, 2013
I doubled the recipe w/adjustments. Next time I'll try to make as is, but it was a bland version. And not as tastie.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by LC
Reviewed: Nov. 2, 2013
Fantastic
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 30, 2013
I made this as is and the water makes it very watery tasting and adding vinegar didn't help only made it taste watery with a vinegar aftertaste. I think if you are going to make it with water you need some kind of meat flavor, maybe some ham would help. Or maybe broth instead of water?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 30, 2013
Unbelievably good and easy to make too! This is a recipe I will again and again! The simplest of ingredients and healthy to boot.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by cutedutchgirl

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 27, 2013
Really good soup! I read several reviews and as such made some changes. I used no salt added vegetable broth in place of water, doubled carrots, celery, garlic and spinach. I added a tsp of cumin, and a dash of chicken base, also added a pinch of red pepper flakes and decreased the oil to 1 tbsp. it seemed too thick at the end of cooking so I added some more water. It was delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 27, 2013
Yummy, filling, made me feel healthy and thin.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 26, 2013
This was good, but I thought it needed a little something more. So I doubled the oregano and basil, and added about a tablespoon of creole seasoning and a little red pepper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 25, 2013
I made a lot of changes and like how it turned out. Instead of olive oil I used coconut oil. I used red onion, baby carrots (chopped), orange bell pepper. I used 4 garlic cloves, and a hodge podge of spices including oregano, dill weed, celery salt, curry powder. I used water and green lentils, and substituted a can of garbanzo beans instead of tomatoes (because I had none). Instead of spinach I used kale and a portobello mushroom. I then added balsamic vinegar and Bragg's Amino Acids in place of salt/pepper. Yum. Fine with water.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 23, 2013
Love it! As suggested, I added 2 extra carrots and more spices. I also tossed in an extra celery stick, a couple dashes of cayenne pepper and about a teaspoon of chilli powder. I wound up using 2/3 cup green lentils because that was all I had the remaining 1 1/3 cups red lentils. It came delicious and I actually prefer the texture of the red lentils to the green. The chilli/cayenne pepper definitely gives it a subtle kick, but is still far from being spicy. I'd never made soup before and although it's not difficult, I'm quite proud that I was able to pull off such a delicious concoction!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 22, 2013
I put all the ingredients except the spinach in the crock pot and it turned out perfect! I added the spinach only for the last half hour or so. I served it over rice for a heartier meal. Left overs went a long way for lunches.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Mclean, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 131-140 (of 1,295) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Want to Grill Tonight?
Want to Grill Tonight?

Check out time-saving recipes, because any night’s a good night to grill.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Marie's Lentil Soup

See how to make a hearty, healthy, and flavorful vegetarian soup.

Greek Lentil Soup

See how to make a simple, traditional Greek lentil soup.

Chef John's Black Lentil Soup

Black lentils, bacon, and aromatic veggies make a deeply delicious soup.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States