Lentil Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 13)
Reviewed: Mar. 9, 2014
This was a big hit. I added some sausage and substituted chicken broth for half of the water. I added more water as it simmered as well--about three cups over the course of an hour.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Belle
Reviewed: Mar. 6, 2014
Great recipe! Although I changed a couple of things around. I added a bit more of the spices than listed. Replaced plain vinegar with balsamic vinegar, added in squash, half vegetable stock half water, didn't add the bay leaf . Served with a side of white rice and added mozzarella and Parmesan cheese to my bowl. Wish I would've added another small can of tomato chunks though, or tomato sauce but the recipe was still great !
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 3, 2014
It was ok
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 2, 2014
I've made lentil soup many times and it has always been "good." This recipe is "amazing!" I did add spicy Italian sausage for additional protein and flavor, but this recipe would be excellent without it, too. The vinegar (I used Balsamic) at the end is the secret ingredient that makes good lentil soup into amazing lentil soup, so don't leave it out!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 2, 2014
Wow, This is a great recipe! I did make a few adjustments. Doubled the carrots & celery, Doubled the garlic, used half chicken stock and half water & added diced sweet potatoes in the last 15 mins. Also instead of adding the spinach to the soup I placed the spinach in the serving bowl and let the heat of the soup wilt the spinach. Served with toasted garlic bread. Even my husband who is a meat eater loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Janie

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 28, 2014
This recipe is excellent. I too used half chicken stock and half water, extra garlic and a tsp of crushed pepper flakes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by juliee

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 28, 2014
After making this I realized I am not a fan of lentils. If you like lentils it might be good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 26, 2014
I followed the recipe and it turned out absolutely tasteless. I added some beef broth and more vinegar so it would have some flavor. I was really trying to go vegetarian. I think it would be a good base with some ham.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 26, 2014
This recipe is delicious... The only substitutions I made were to double the recipe because it is so good and keeps well and to omit the vinegar and salt and add a beef bouillon cube.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Evelyn
Reviewed: Feb. 25, 2014
Great soup! Easy to make. I didn't add the spinach but threw a diced fresh jalapeño pepper with the onion and carrots to give it a kick. I garnished it with cilantro.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 121-130 (of 1,376) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Sweet Summer Desserts
Sweet Summer Desserts

Summertime is all the sweeter with light desserts that satisfy without weighing you down.

Let's Make Zucchini Bread
Let's Make Zucchini Bread

Buried in zucchini? It's time to make zucchini bread! Choose from over 100 recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Marie's Lentil Soup

See how to make a hearty, healthy, and flavorful vegetarian soup.

Greek Lentil Soup

See how to make a simple, traditional Greek lentil soup.

Chef John's Black Lentil Soup

Black lentils, bacon, and aromatic veggies make a deeply delicious soup.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States