Lentil Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 12)
Reviewed: Oct. 25, 2013
I made a lot of changes and like how it turned out. Instead of olive oil I used coconut oil. I used red onion, baby carrots (chopped), orange bell pepper. I used 4 garlic cloves, and a hodge podge of spices including oregano, dill weed, celery salt, curry powder. I used water and green lentils, and substituted a can of garbanzo beans instead of tomatoes (because I had none). Instead of spinach I used kale and a portobello mushroom. I then added balsamic vinegar and Bragg's Amino Acids in place of salt/pepper. Yum. Fine with water.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 23, 2013
Love it! As suggested, I added 2 extra carrots and more spices. I also tossed in an extra celery stick, a couple dashes of cayenne pepper and about a teaspoon of chilli powder. I wound up using 2/3 cup green lentils because that was all I had the remaining 1 1/3 cups red lentils. It came delicious and I actually prefer the texture of the red lentils to the green. The chilli/cayenne pepper definitely gives it a subtle kick, but is still far from being spicy. I'd never made soup before and although it's not difficult, I'm quite proud that I was able to pull off such a delicious concoction!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 22, 2013
I put all the ingredients except the spinach in the crock pot and it turned out perfect! I added the spinach only for the last half hour or so. I served it over rice for a heartier meal. Left overs went a long way for lunches.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Mclean, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 21, 2013
Great Recipe. I add a bit more spices and do add the salt and pepper to give it a kick. I also freeze it and reheat and its decent. You can also sometimes add dried peas to it for a different texture, takes a bit longer to cook but if you soak them before wouldn't take so long. Solid recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 20, 2013
Great recipe. Added some italian sausage and substituted sauted kale for the spinach and used 4 cups water and 4 cups chicken stock instead of the 8 cups water. Will definately keep this in the recipe box!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 15, 2013
Delicious soup! The one substitution that I highly recommend, if you do nothing else, is to use kale instead of spinach. It holds up much better, so you can throw it in at the beginning of the cooking cycle and reheat leftovers without it falling apart like spinach. Like others, I added spicy Italian sausage, used chicken broth instead of water, and added an extra can of diced tomatoes, which makes this recipe spicy and amazing. I prefer tarragon over basil, so I made that substitution too, but that's just personal preference.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 14, 2013
Wonderful blend of flavor. I used chicken broth instead of water. Thanks for the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 10, 2013
I am a big fan of lentil soups, but this one didn't taste good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 8, 2013
Pretty good. Even my Small Child seems to have enjoyed it. The texture is a tad bit grainy, but if you don't mind that, it's quite enjoyable.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by FeyWind

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Bake Until Golden
Reviewed: Oct. 4, 2013
Made exactly as written. Worlds better than the last lentil soup recipe I tried! You cannot neglect the salt and pepper to taste. Four stars because it was good but I wasn't crazy about it. That may be my own fault though... I'm starting to think maybe I don't like lentils as much as I think I do. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Bake Until Golden

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Arcadia, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 111-120 (of 1,269) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Healthy and Delicious
Healthy and Delicious

New for spring! Good-for-you food you’ll love to eat.

Mexican Food Fiesta
Mexican Food Fiesta

Go mild or go wild with Cinco de Mayo Recipes!

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Marie's Lentil Soup

See how to make a hearty, healthy, and flavorful vegetarian soup.

Greek Lentil Soup

See how to make a simple, traditional Greek lentil soup.

Chef John's Black Lentil Soup

Black lentils, bacon, and aromatic veggies make a deeply delicious soup.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States