Lentil Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 11)
Reviewed: Jan. 10, 2014
Delicious!! We made a few changes: use white balsamic vinegar instead of regular vinegar; use 4 carrots instead of 2; use 4 cups veggie broth and 4 cups water. I especially think the white balsamic gave the soup a really nice flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 8, 2014
Yummy. Gave only 4 stars because I followed reviewer Blankin's suggestions using 28 oz can of crushed tomatoes, double carrots, double spices, pinch of crushed red pepper, 1 can of chicken broth (water to make up rest of liquid needed in recipe), lemon juice and port. Those changes make it a 5 star. Added shredded parmesan cheese on top of each bowl.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by JerMej1s
Reviewed: Jan. 7, 2014
Excellent dish. I doubled the tomatoes, added more carrots and celery, and used vegetable broth instead of water. I also added some crushed red pepper flakes to give a bit of a kick. Served with cornbread and grated Parmesan on top. Delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 7, 2014
My 3 1/2 year old and I loved this! I did not add celery or spinach. I made homemade croutons and we added them to the top. This is light enough where you don't feel like you need a shovel to eat it, and it doesn't leave you feeling weighed down. I had "dilly bean" juice from my fermented green beans; I added 2 splashes of it at the end of the cook time instead of the vinegar. I also cut the recipe in half, and between 2 adults, and a child, it will take us a couple of days to eat it up. I will make this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 7, 2014
Amazing recipe. Also added some hot chicken sausage (removed the casing first and sauteed the ground meat before adding it to the soup). The soup was delicious. One of the best soups I've had in recent memory.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 6, 2014
Very good. I had some leftover cooked homegrown tomatos with chorizo (that I'd had over pasta), and used them instead of canned tomatoes. This is a hearty, heavy soup, and perfect for a cold rainy day!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 6, 2014
Yummy and filling. Added a bit of spice and my husband and I both loved it. Will definitely make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 4, 2014
So good!! Try it!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 4, 2014
Remarkably flavorful and satisfying! My husband and I just did a juice fast and were looking for some veggie-based dinner ideas. I followed the recipe using the ingredients as listed with the exception of spinach. I had none on hand so I had to use kale. Like others, I did adjust the ratios a little to suit our taste, i.e. more garlic and more veggies. For me, one hour was not quite long enough; it had to simmer about 1 1/2 hours. But I expect that from soup. It's not an exact science. I think this recipe is very versatile and forgiving. We can each adjust it easily to suit our personal preferences. Overall we were pleasantly surprised at how good this soup tastes and agree with other reviewers who said that balsamic vinegar really makes the difference. I tasted the soup before the vinegar - it was good, but after - Wow, really good! We both went back for seconds. This recipe is a keeper. Thanks for sharing, Marie:-)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 4, 2014
I like this recipe.... This is the first time I made lentil soup and I'm pretty pleased with the results. I read one review of a person who hated how individuals changed/added to the recipe, but that is one of the things I really enjoy about Allrecipes.com (the reviews that help make a recipe better). For me, I added more onions and garlic (because I'm a huge fan), sugar (because my mama always said to add a little sugar to a recipe with canned tomatoes due to the bitterness), cayenne pepper, red pepper flakes, and a little bit of Italians seasoning. I also added a strip of thick cut bacon for more flavor. I think the recipe really needed that extra boast. I didn't have any spinach so I used frozen kale instead. Lastly, and probably most importantly, I substituted chicken stock in place of the water. The soup is pretty good. I think I will add another bacon strip the next time I make it. Overall, I highly recommend this recipe...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JDiva

Cooking Level: Intermediate


Displaying results 101-110 (of 1,296) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Marie's Lentil Soup

See how to make a hearty, healthy, and flavorful vegetarian soup.

Greek Lentil Soup

See how to make a simple, traditional Greek lentil soup.

Chef John's Black Lentil Soup

Black lentils, bacon, and aromatic veggies make a deeply delicious soup.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States