Lentil Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 11)
Reviewed: Jan. 20, 2014
It's a good, basic recipe that can be customized for each person's taste, as seen by all the reviews. I used fresh herbs, chicken stock, added chorizo sausage, and then needed 4 cups water for the right consistency.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 20, 2014
This soup is OK with modifications. I took many other peoples suggestions and added more veggies and used a 28 oz can of crushed tomatoes. I also used vegetable broth instead of water. I still found this to be just ok.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: South Riding, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 20, 2014
This recipe was great. Omitted the spinach and the vinegar but don't think it made a difference.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 20, 2014
Absolutely delicious. I cut the oil dramatically and added a touch or nice red wine instead of the vinegar. Healthy lunch all week!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Doug Borowski

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Salem, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: Worcester, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 19, 2014
i just finished my lentil soup, before I saw this recipe, I used 1 and 1/2 cup of lentils, used 1 and1/2 cans of low sodium chicken broth, some chopped onion, chopped celery with the leafy greens, and baby carrots, minced garlic, a can of stewed tomato's, some smoked ham, salt and pepper, and one dried bay leaf, cooked on high for 5 hrs, smells so good, gonna have a small bowl for dinner, YUM!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 19, 2014
I love lentils but in my opinion, this recipe only needs 1 cup of them, otherwise it's way too thick. The longer you cook it, the more liquid it needs also. Next time I will make these changes and I'll be much happier with the outcome.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 19, 2014
I made this (doubled) on the stove top once before with some adjustments but never made a note of what I did. It was great. But, today I wanted to make it with a lazy approach in the crock pot. I pretty much doubled the recipe Into two crockpots (6 quarts each) . To estimate per crockpot I used 1 16oz bag of dried lentils, I large onion, 4 cloves of garlic, 6 stalks of celery and 2 large carrots, 2 teaspoons oregano and basil, 1 teaspoon cumin, curry, and crushed red pepper, 2 bay leafs, 2 cans of crushed/diced/stewed/or the equivalent of fresh tomatoes (depends on how you like your tomatoes, you can't go wrong), some ground black pepper. Then I used all low sodium chicken broth to fill up the crock pot about an inch above everything else (the lentils will get some water from the vegetables while their cooking), but you can add more. I cooked on high for 6-7 hours and then puréed a little with my hand mixer afterwards. Added 2 tablespoons balsamic and presto! This recipe really opened me up to lentil soup, it is awesome!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Grand Haven, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 18, 2014
First time I have ever had lentil soup, so I only made half recipe. Substituted a cup of chicken broth for one of the waters, and diced tomatoes. Easy recipe, only the cutting board and knives needed cleaning from the preparation. Both the wife and I will do this recipe again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by GAS

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 18, 2014
I added potatoes at 30 minutes and spinach at the end and needed 2 cups more liquid. Used mostly chicken stock. Felt like I was a eating a bowl full of healthy but wanted a little more taste. My kids liked it though. It was good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 18, 2014
Made a few changes. Added cumin, left out basil. More garlic, 4 cups (one carton) vegetable broth and 2 cups water. I love vinegar, but didn't think it added much to the flavor. Great lentil soup!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: New Orleans, Louisiana, USA
Living In: Woodbury, Connecticut, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 101-110 (of 1,311) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Marie's Lentil Soup

See how to make a hearty, healthy, and flavorful vegetarian soup.

Greek Lentil Soup

See how to make a simple, traditional Greek lentil soup.

Chef John's Black Lentil Soup

Black lentils, bacon, and aromatic veggies make a deeply delicious soup.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States